Solved: Amazing Computer but Games still lagg?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ferni36

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2009
Messages
25
Heres my setup in basic terms :

8GB Ram
1TB HDD
HD Radeon 5670 768MB
Phenom X4 Quad Core @ 3.0Ghz (Not clocked)

Should it really be struggling with a game like Skyrim or Saints row 3 On low settings? Is something bottlenecking my PC?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
132
I'm surprised that your computer is struggling to run Skyrim on low settings.

The only thing I could see bottle necking your system is the gfx card memory, (Recommended 1 Gb). But this should have too much of a detrimental impact.

Are you running any process in the background that may be using up a lot of memory?
 

ferni36

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2009
Messages
25
when i play Games i have nothing working in the background. Except for around 35 - 40 Processes which arent using CPU according to task manager. Could that have anything to do with it? I can run Crysis 2 better than i can run Saints row 3 and i dont understand why. However i have a question in mind that it might be how the computer is built since i got all this with a screen and some games for £350 so could it be a fake hardware piece? Thanks for answering
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
775
I can't really see background programs causing any issues with a computer
that has 8GB of system memory. However, I think that you're expecting too
much from a £350 computer. That much money buys an amazing video card,
but not an amazing gaming computer.
 

ferni36

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2009
Messages
25
Yes i agree however this was a HUGE bargain because of the parts inside the computer which i stated , and i myself cant see why games such as Skyrim lagg now and then on low settings. If anything i will buy new parts for the PC but im struggling on which ones to buy , Any ideas?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
5
thats not true lol, i spent 500 dollars on my computer and it owns. its about the same power as yours (a little better card, its 1gb) but you got more ram than me (4gb) i could play skyrim on medium easily i think. wish i could help you.
 

Tanis

Shane
Joined
May 29, 2006
Messages
4,101
What operating system are you using and is it 32 or 64 bit?
 

ferni36

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2009
Messages
25
Thanks everyone for the help , I FINALLY discovered it was actually the fact i had my computer on energy saving mode that made all my hardware run 50% slower than normal. However i still have a question in mind , does putting my computer on "High performace" on the battery menu mean

1) I will get bigger bills?
2) My power supply MAY be burnt to death?

Im asking this because its happened before with a ****** power supply the guy that sold my computer put in. However i replaced it for a £35 one i like to think is not to bad.
 

Tanis

Shane
Joined
May 29, 2006
Messages
4,101
Setting it to high performance will increase its power consumption a bit, however I would be extremely surprised if you actually noticed that difference in your electricity bill. As long as you power supply is suitable for the machine then setting it to high performance will not frag the PSU. Having said that, a £35 PSU isn't likely to be particularly good quality, what is the exact make, model and wattage of the PSU?
 

ferni36

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2009
Messages
25
580w G7 ATX PSU

I will get another Power supply very soon. Recommendations?
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
223
I'm currently using an XFX Core Edition PRO550W PSU and it runs great... And has more damn cables than you can shake a stick at, good if you have a lot of hardware. It also carries two PCIe connectors for powerful cards. It can be picked up for about $70.

Link: XFX Core Edition PRO550W

If you're looking for a top of the line brand I'd go for an Antec. Maybe something like this: Antec EarthWatts EA-650 650W

I would imagine $70 is going to be the lowest you'll pay for a reliable PSU, Corsair do some nice budget PSU's under their builder series.
 

Tanis

Shane
Joined
May 29, 2006
Messages
4,101
Personally I like Corsair, PC Power and Cooling, Seasonic (they actually make a lot of the Corsair units) and OCZ. You will pay more for a quality unit but it is worth it, cheap unit more often than not don't perform to their rated specs, have cheap components and fail alot easier. When they do fail they normally take other components with them like Motherboard and/or CPU etc. This is an area where quality does pay but it also costs.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top