1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: An add-on for this website failed to run ?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Danboy, Sep 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Good Evening,

    On a couple of websites I visit I get this pop up....

    " An add-on for this website failed to run "

    After a few seconds the pop-up disappears. This has been happening for about a month now, and it does not happen on every website I visit. Can someone tell me what it means and how to stop it? Thanks,

    Danboy
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    One of your browser add-ons might be faulty. Disable add-ons one after the other and open one of those websites between each add-on you disable. You'll eliminate the add-on causing trouble.
     
  3. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Thanks Phantom010, could you please tell me how to do that. :D
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
  5. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Yes, mine is IE 9. I will do some reading and see if I can firgure this out and report back.
     
  6. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    I must have got lucky cause the first one I disabled stopped the pop-up. It was Adobe Systems Inc., Shockwave Flash Object. So, can I live without this? :confused:
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    Do you have the 32 or 64-bit Windows 7?
     
  8. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    I have the 64 bit.
     
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    Flash is an important add-on to have. You need to have a 32-bit IE9 to install Flash. If you do,

    Make sure you have the latest Adobe Flash Player 10.3.183.7?

    Uninstall your old version and try this one.
     
  10. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    OK Phantom010, just removed the old one and installed the new one. :D
     
  11. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    Are you still getting the error messages?
     
  12. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    No, after I disabled the first one on the list of add ons the message stopped.
     
  13. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Everything seems to be OK Phantom010 so I am going to mark this as solved. Thanks very much for your help. :D
     
  14. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    You're welcome! (y)
     
  15. Danboy

    Danboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    694
    Well i thought everything was fine. This morning my wife tried to watch some videos on You Tube but kept getting a message saying we needed to download the latest version of Adobe Flash, which was the one I did last night. So I tried again this morning but the download stopped half way through. I went ahead and removed the Adobe flash I installed last night and clicked on the download now button that was in the message that appeared on the You Tube website. It worked that time but now when we go to You Tube the message saying we need to download the latest version of Adobe Flash keeps appearing. I also restarted my computer but that didn't help.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1016686