1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Anti-Virus Suddenly Alerts Me to Anti-Spyware... ?

Discussion in 'General Security' started by LilyNBlue, May 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LilyNBlue

LilyNBlue Thread Starter

I use avast! anti-virus... and have for a long time. I've been using SuperAntiSpyware for several months (as well as other antispyware programs), too, and they've always co-existed together with no problems.

Suddenly last night, avast! alerted me that SuperAntiSpyware "contains a sample of a Win:32 Trojan".

I'm no expert but I'm thinking this is unlikely, so I have told avast! to ignore SuperAntiSpyware, and NOT scan that SuperAntiSpyware.exe file.

Is this foolish?

Should I allow avast! to move the offending file to quarantine?
    Or should I uninstall SuperAntiSpyware first (since quarantining the exe file will certainly render it useless anyway)?
    Or can I continue to ignore the warning altogether??

Any expert advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

~Julie~

Additionally:

I connect to the 'net (and a home network!) wirelessly.
    My computer spec's are in the profile.

2. lunarlander

lunarlander

I would uninstall Superantispyware and reinstall again. Then run avast again.

3. Byteman

Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

4. BlueEyedFox

BlueEyedFox Banned

Are you sure it wasnt a file in quarintine?

Its a false positive but, I dont understand why it would detect it now?

5. LilyNBlue

LilyNBlue Thread Starter

Thanks to all three of you for your advice -- and for the additional info, Byteman!. It's all very much appreciated.

After doing some additional reading on the subject, I'm no longer concerned... (y)

6. Byteman

Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten