Solved: Anyone have any idea what's going on?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
:mad: I may have posted this before, but it still happens........I'll be on the computer, on-line, able to
access anything,,,,,,then as the night goes on, things seem to slow down and eventually, it won't access
anything,,,,,,e-mail, the forum,the internet....you name it ,,,i can't access it......When the morning comes,
things are once again,,seemingly, O.K.........i'm wondering if it just needs to cool down.....or is it a
problem thet can be fixed.......I throw my hands up.....
any suggestions???????? chuck-HD.
 

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
Here it is.
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 7:51:35 AM, on 7/9/05
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCVSRTE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCVSSHLD.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\AGENT\MCAGENT.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCVSESCN.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\ITOUCH\ITOUCH.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\RunDLL.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://start.chilitech.net/
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: McAfee VirusScan - {BA52B914-B692-46c4-B683-905236F6F655} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCVSSHL.DLL
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CriticalUpdate] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\wucrtupd.exe -startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VSOCheckTask] "C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCMNHDLR.EXE" /checktask
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VirusScan Online] "C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\mcvsshld.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCAgentExe] C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\AGENT\mcagent.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MCUpdateExe] C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\AGENT\MCUPDATE.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Synchronization Manager] mobsync.exe /logon
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [zBrowser Launcher] C:\Program Files\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [McVsRte] C:\PROGRA~1\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\mcvsrte.exe /embedding
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Taskbar Display Controls] RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page into English - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmtrans.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Translate English Word - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmwordtrans.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOOGLE\GOOGLETOOLBAR1.DLL/cmsimilar.html
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\npjpi150_04.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\npjpi150_04.dll
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {5F0C30E4-1E72-4DCC-85E5-57810F1CA97B} (McUpdatePortalFactory Class) - http://www.amiuptodate.com/vsc/bin/1,0,0,7/McUpdatePortal.cab
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=36467&clcid=0x409
O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (PCPitstop Utility) - http://pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2004061001/housecall.trendmicro.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) -
 

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
Hi blues harp28, I'll do what you said, might take a while' i have to boot into safemode to run those peograms, Thanks
Again, chuck-HD.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2005
Messages
177
yo,looks clean to me too;it's what's not showing that could cause problems.hey Chuck
unless your'e running McAfee suite I don't see a firewall?Crap cleaner(Ccleaner) is an
excellent utility for cleaning out c er stuff&fixing some problems like slow down etc.
thefreecountry.com(for freepersonal firewalls)OnlyTheBestFreeware.com(av&spystuff)
might be useful for anti-spyware cos you need to run some quick.Spy Sweeper is a
great fast scanner.The ones above are indispensible .
 

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
Hi Guys, To answer the first question.....I don't know why spybot did'nt show up, i still have it , in fact, i just updated it..
New detection rules, 695kb. No i don't really have a fire wall,
McAfee securitys firewall is not activated. I guess i'll have to get a firewall, and use spysweeper. i'll check things out and get back to you, thanks, chuck-HD.
 

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
Hey Guys, I was just thinking, with all the connection problems
i've had recently, would a firewall, or spysweeper cause any more problems? The reason i ask is, my ISP., when things were'nt connecting properly.....One of the first things they
asked was, do you have a firewall. As if to say that it might be causeing the problem.My ISP. seems to have a lot of problems,
but i'm paid for a whole year. chuck-HD.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,299
Hi..your other thread mentions problems with IE..
Are you up to date with all critical security up-dates from microsoft?
 

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
I went to the page where microsoft shows updates, i could be wrong but, the way i read it was, it's for systems newer than
WIN98SE. So i left it alone. chuck-HD.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,299
Hi....Click on Internet Explorer ...(start>programs)..click on tools drop down list..and there should be Windows Up-dates..
That will take you (if online)to Microsoft..where it will check all the up-dates your system needs...
 

chuck-HD

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
1,914
I've gone to the windows update page, they say that,
there are no critical updates listed for me at this time.
I know there's a new one , but as i mentioned before :)
they said it was for systems newer than 98SE.
I can't remember how to get back to that page to make
sure.....I'll have to do some digging around, maybe i can
find it, just to check and make sure. Thanks Again,
chuck-HD.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top