1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Application trying to connect to remote ip address. Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by sgl1, Sep 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sgl1

    sgl1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    485
    Application Microsoft windows search filter host is trying to establish tcp connection with remote ip address 108.56.225.987 (made up ip). Is this normal or is this some form of hacking? I'm using AVG security and can't find much about this. I'm gonna go back to using Zone Alarm.
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,477
    First Name:
    James
    Wow. That looks really weird. I wouldn't even think it would work with that last octet.

    I would suggest using another one as well and see if you get the same message.
     
  3. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,320
    I do use ZoneAlarm, and FWIW, I block Microsoft Windows Search Filter Host. A question mark followed by five red X's if you are familiar with ZA.
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,477
    First Name:
    James
    Are you using Vista?
     
  5. sgl1

    sgl1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    485
    Yeah good ol Vista. :rolleyes:
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,477
    First Name:
    James
    It's the Windows Desktop Search. You should be able to disable it or remove it from Add/Remove. Once that is done, you should be good to go.
     
  7. sgl1

    sgl1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    485
    Now I have another message, Application 'Spooler subassembly app' is trying to establish TCP connection with remote IP address fe80::6d5f:a2f6:72ee:dce1 : 135 then it gave another one sql something other very similar. Just a little concerned when things start trying to communicate with remote ip's.
     
  8. sgl1

    sgl1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    485
    Any idea?


    [​IMG]
     
  9. jdean

    jdean

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    433
    Can't tell you exactly what's going on but I would certainly block this.
    The unusual IP address might be IPv6.
     
  10. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,477
    First Name:
    James
    IT may be Vista's processes.

    AS to the ip address it is IPv6
     
  11. sgl1

    sgl1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    485
    Well I was thinking it probably was but can't be too careful and this was the first time I've seen this before. I've been using Vitsa for about 7 mo now but the first time I used this particular firewall program. Usually I just used Windows firewall.
     
  12. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,477
    First Name:
    James
    Port 135 is a well known port, used by Microsoft Processes (RPC, et. al). What would cause the sudden catch is uncertain, but it seems ok.

    I would suggest if you are still concerned is to get this thread moved to the security forum for further assistane.
     
  13. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,320
    And unless you have a known specific need for IPV6 at this time, you could probably safely unbind them from your network interfaces.
     
  14. sgl1

    sgl1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    485
    No idea what this means but okey dokey.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/753072

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice