1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Are these computer parts compatible?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Linkofcamalot, Jan 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Linkofcamalot

    Linkofcamalot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    I'm replacing the motherboard, RAM, and CPU on my friend's computer and I hoped to have someone double check the compatibility. If it matters, it's in a micro case with a 600 watt psu. Vista Home Premium 32-bit is currently installed.

    The parts:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131660

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103727

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231275

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153140

    I was also wondering if you think this system could handle Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit. I'd like to suggest an upgrade, but I want to be sure it would work first.

    Thanks in advance!


    -Link


    EDIT - Found a compatible 600w PSU and added link
     
  2. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    A Black Edition Phenom...with a 250W power supply?

    Hmmmm...I don't know about that. Doesn't sound too good.
     
  3. Linkofcamalot

    Linkofcamalot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Do you have a suggestion of something else?
     
  4. Linkofcamalot

    Linkofcamalot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Could someone please check these for me? I need to order the parts tomorrow.
     
  5. Haseo34

    Haseo34

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    They seem decent to me :) Everything is definitely compatible, so i say go for it! One main thing I'm glad you hopefully noticed, either way is good..is that it has a 4+4 12v AUX Power adapter on it. for AMD boards of course :)
     
  6. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Win 7 would be better than any flavor of Vista IMHO. The Processor is on the supported list for that motherboard, I couldn't find that ram listed on the QVL list though. Providing the Case has decent Airflow for cooling, you should have a good system there.
     
  7. Linkofcamalot

    Linkofcamalot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks a bunch to both of you!

    Haseo34 - I hadn't realized that, but I'm sure glad it ended up that way! Thanks for your help!

    dustyjay - I agree completely, but I talked to my friend yesterday and he said that he doesn't want to spend the money on Windows 7 right now. I also have a few extra fans around, so airflow shouldn't be a problem. Thanks for your help!
     
  8. Haseo34

    Haseo34

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    No problem! :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972887

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice