1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Artifacts problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Tshirtwisdom, Oct 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tshirtwisdom

    Tshirtwisdom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Hello all,
    I left my computer on last night and when I woke up there were artifacts on the screen. I immediately turned off my computer, as I know this usually means an overheated GPU. After letting it rest for several hours, I turned it back on and still received the artifacts. I tried "underclocking" the card, and that still did no good. My motherboard has internal graphics, so I figured that I'd just use the internal graphics until I buy a new card. However, I'm still getting the artifacts with the graphics card removed and only using internal graphics. I know it is not any type of monitor burn-in, as there are no artifacts when using it with anything else.

    Can anyone think of what's going on? I don't mind buying a new graphics card if it's required, however, I don't want to end up buying one and the problem be in something else.

    System Specs:
    ATI Radeon 4870 HD
    AMD Phenom II X4 920
    ASUS M3A76-CM
    8BG DDR2 OCZ
    Windows 7 Ultimate

    Also, the artifacts are shown on the boot screen/BIOS as well as within Windows and the Login Screen.
     
  2. pubtech

    pubtech

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    368
    hi,
    could you say what these anything else are .

    cheers.
     
  3. Tshirtwisdom

    Tshirtwisdom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    I checked the monitor by plugging it into my DVR as a TV, via an HDMI converter, and the monitor did not have any graphical artifacts.
     
  4. pubtech

    pubtech

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    368
    have you ran "dxdiag" (without quotes) yet?

    have you o/c'd the bios ?
    may be worth a try at bios to safe settings (not optimum).

    also have you any other tools (software) for checking hardware, temps etc.
     
  5. steve_qid

    steve_qid

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    smells like one of the RAM chips on your video card is not resetting properly. Most likely you need new video card
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Artifacts problem
  1. winpc
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,433
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024870

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice