Solved: Associating a file extension with a Program help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tylortylor

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
6
So, I've got Windows 7 Starter, and I need to associate an extension with a program. I know how to do this, but when I click on the program to add the select program box, it never shows up when I hit Ok. So I can't change open with. The Program is Pivot Stick Figure animator, and the extension is .piv. It's worked before on a previous computer. Please help.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
360
If you go to Control Panel >> Default Programs and then click on "Set your default programs" , does Pivot Stick show up there ??

If so, click on it, and then you can choose which files it will open.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
360
Did you try Control Panel >> Default Programs and then "Associate a file type ..."

Click on the .piv extension and then "Change program" , then use the browse button to find Pivot Stick application.
 

tylortylor

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
6
That's one of the first thing I tried. When I opened the change program box and clicked Pivot, it never appeared on the open with list.
 

tylortylor

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
6
Yes it was. I can add other programs to the list, just not pivot for some reason.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
360
Strange..can you alter the file associations from within Pivot.Maybe in its preferences somewhere.
 

tylortylor

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
6
I honestly don't know where or what to change. I went into its properties but I found nothing helpful.
 

tylortylor

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
6
You know what, I figured it out. It was the last thing I'd expect to be the problem. Pivot was named pivot.exe and I changed It to the Name it should be (Pivot Stickfigure animator.exe) and that fixed it! Thanks anyway Oily!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top