1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Atheros AR9285 can't find any wi-fi connection!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lefthanded, Oct 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lefthanded

    lefthanded Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Hello,

    i have a samsung N130 with an Atheros AR9285, a few months ago everything was working fine, suddenly i was disconnected, and i couldn't find any wi-fi connection. i tried system restore, installing the latest drivers, nothing is solving the problem. The wireless chip is working properly according to windows device manager.

    Using a D-link usb dongle i could find wireless networks and connect to the internet.

    anyone knows what causing the problem? or is the chip faulty?

    thank you.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,864
    without the USB adapter connected
    can we see a device manager screen shot and ipconfig /all also an xirrus screen shot - details below

    Is the wireless switched OFF most laptops use a physical switch or a combination of FN + one of the F keys to toggle the wireless on/off
    Its also possible its disabled in the bios - but then it should not appear in the device manager

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    windows key and pause Key should open to allow device manager to be seen on laptops may need to use windows key + FN key + Pause Key
    if not then

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. lefthanded

    lefthanded Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thank you Etaf for the reply, the wireless is on, on my netbook it's FN + F9, in the Bios it's also enabled. when the problem happened i called Samsung but they were pretty useless, asked me to do a full recovery which didn't help at all.

    here's the results:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : hadi-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : F0-7B-CB-06-DD-41
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-54-63-E4-16
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,864
    xirrus can see the adapter but no networks

    just check the services

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Services

    We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below to do this goto
    Control Panel>
    Administrative Tools>
    Services>

    then for each of the servies listed below - Please post back the following status information -
    If the service is Started/Stopped
    and
    If the service is Automatic/Manual

    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation


    If a service is not running,
    right click on the service
    then click on properties and now check the dependencies.

    Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

    Also to help us identify what may be causing the issue
    Check the event log, there may be clues to what is failing. To do that
    Start >
    control panel >
    administrative tools >
    event Viewer>


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. lefthanded

    lefthanded Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    COM+ Event System (for WZC issues) Started/Automatic
    Computer Browser Started/Manual
    DHCP Client Started/Automatic
    DNS Client Started/Automatic
    Network Connections Started/Manual
    Network Location Awareness Started/Automatic
    Remote Procedure Call (RPC) Started/Automatic
    Server Started/Automatic
    TCP/IP Netbios helper Started/Automatic
    Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only) Started/Automatic
    Workstation Started/Automatic
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,864
    looks like it maybe faulty - I would try a few more things, then i'm out of ideas

    you did download the driver from the samsung site - correct ?

    from device manager - uninstal the adapter - reboot PC and let windows redect the adapter

    possible try a tcp/ip reset - unlikely
    try safemode with networking sometimes the wireless adapter will notwork in this mode anyway - but not allways

    You may be able to get to the wireless adapter - had a look but cant see anydetails - often one of the panels on the bottom will allow you to take put the adapter - you may want to try reseating a few times


    - try safemode with networking
    as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. lefthanded

    lefthanded Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    D:\Users\hadi>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    D:\Users\hadi>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    D:\Users\hadi>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,864
    that all looks ok
     
  9. lefthanded

    lefthanded Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    i was first using an XP when this happened, i've installed windows 7 just to see if it's a problem with XP but still it's not working. so i should be 100% sure that the Atheros chip is faulty?

    tried the safe mode, didn't work. I've even opened the computer to see if the white and black connectors are connected to the chip which they were.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,864
  11. lefthanded

    lefthanded Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Etaf, I appreciate all the help!
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,864
    your welcome - you could create a ubuntu cd and see if that works with the wireless only issue you may need drivers so it will only be certain if it actually works - if it does not work may still be faulty


    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1023748