1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: att.net homepage different & fullscreen

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by ss396sub, Aug 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ss396sub

    ss396sub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    248
    Don't know what I did but I no longer have a top bar that has "Favorites" link,etc., nor a bottom bar that has "Start", "Date", "Time", etc.and the att.net homepage is different and fullscreen but very small type. I have a Dell laptop, Windows 7 Home Premium, IE 9. When I have an open website on my screen and I want to close it then I have to put the cursor at the top of the screen & click it for a bar to appear which has the red X to close out. Strange.
    Sure hope someone knows how I can get back to my original look. John
     
  2. captainron276

    captainron276 Ron

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,754
    Try a System Restore to a time prior to this taking place.
     
  3. good grief

    good grief

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    I don't know what you've done to your home page unless it's just a matter of having changed the zoom level on the status bar, so system restore is probably the easiest way to fix that as captainron276 says.

    For future reference, in IE9, F11 (or Control. + F11, or Fn + F11 depending on your computer) takes you in and out of full screen. You can right click on the ribbon up the top, and tick the toolbars you want to show.

    As for the start button etc, on your desktop, move your cursor to the bottom of the screen, and when the taskbar shows, right click on the start button, go into Properties, and in the taskbar tab, untick Auto-hide the Taskbar.
     
  4. ss396sub

    ss396sub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    248
    Thanks, Captainron & Good Grief . I tried the System Restore back to 8/5/12 & it did not restore my ATT.Net homepage to originall look. So I went back in to System Restore to UNdo the 8/5/12 Restore for both Drives C and D, which it did. Now I'm trying to go back to 8/3/12 Restore point but no matter where I L or R click I can find no way to enter 8/3/12 as a new Restore point. On 8/2/12 I installed a new ATT/Netgear combination Wireless Router/Modem and I hesitate to goback before 8/2/12 for fear I will disturb the installation of that new wireless router/modem. Can you guide this beginner old man step by step?
    And, Good Grief your suggestion about, FN and F11 worked and I now have my old top and bottom ribbons. I, also, did the right click on Start > Properties> and there was NO check for, Auto-Hide the Taskbar, nor for the other three items.
     
  5. captainron276

    captainron276 Ron

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,754
    Right click on the Taskbar itself and select Properties, now you will see the Auto-hide the taskbar.
     
  6. ss396sub

    ss396sub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    248
    I already did that as I said in my previous post and there was NO check mark there for me to UNtick.
    What I need is instructions on how to restore my system back to 8/3/12. The System Restore screen shows my prior restore back to 8/5/12 BUT it does not allow me, anywhere, to enter a NEW restore point of 8/3/12. How do I do that?? John
     
  7. good grief

    good grief

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    Did you tick the box that says show more restore points? If you have earlier ones, they will show up then.

    And you can only restore from points already made. You can't create one for an earlier date further down the line. You CAN however, create restore points now, which you will be able to use later if you need to, assuming they aren't overwritten. System restore only has a certain amount of space allocated to it. :)
     
  8. good grief

    good grief

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    Also, for your home page, when you go there, make sure the % on your status bar at the bottom of the page is reading at least 100%.
     
  9. ss396sub

    ss396sub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    248
    Good Grief: Not being able to go back to an earlier restore date is a bummer. I thought it logical that you would be allowed to go back in incremental steps until your problem was solved. Well, I guess that I killed that attempt to go back in time to ressurect my original homepage. Thanks for all your help, I do appreciate it. John
     
  10. good grief

    good grief

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    You probably CAN go back to an earlier date (maybe not on the actual date you want, but one earlier than that) if you tick that box I mentioned while you're in System Restore. Unless you've already ticked it and there was nothing there (and I can't imagine why there wouldn't be), give it a try.
     
  11. ss396sub

    ss396sub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    248
    I did that again, Good Grief. As before, it showed 8/5/12 for both drives C and D; also, a line that said my system was restored 8/8/12. There is NO PLACE for me to enter an earlier date as a restore point. The window shows today's date & time, for Description it shows: Undo Restore, then in a box it shows Drives C and D, and then Back, Finish, Cancel. John
     
  12. good grief

    good grief

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    Okay, if no earlier system restore date is available, I think at this point, unless someone pops in with an alternative other than a complete reinstall, it might be easiest for you to create a new user account. Make sure it's an administrator account, so you can access your files on the first account. If everything checks out after you've set it up, you can transfer your files to the new account and get rid of them out of the old one if you wish.
     
  13. ss396sub

    ss396sub Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    248
    Sor.ry, good grief, but I don't feel competent enough to create a new user account . This old submariner is grateful for your help in in getting the top and bottom bars back for me. After I post this then I will mark it solved & close out this post. Thanks.
     
  14. captainron276

    captainron276 Ron

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,754
    Just click on Help and put in create a new user account and it will walk you through it:)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064263