Solved: Audio Drivers not installing after a reformat of hard disk

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gracie1979

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
56
Hi,

I have an old Dell DIMENSION 8300, Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4CPU 2.60GHz 2.59GHz, & 1.00GB of RAM that I ended up having to do a reformat of the hard disk yesterday and when installing the drivers I had run into some problems with the audio drivers. I have the utility disk that came with the computer, so I was installing the drivers with that. The audio driver showed to be 198xIntegrated Audio Driver Sound Max. When it gets to the installation process, it would run through and then an error would pop up saying "Driver not found, Reboot Your System and run step again". I tried this and it would not work. I checked in device manager and everything else seemed to be okay except under other devices/multimedia controller had the yellow question mark. I even went to Dell's downloads to get the same exact file and try it but it didn't work. The file for it was R58182. I did some searching on the net about this issue and there were other folks that had run into this problem but I couldn't find any resolution to it. Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,442
except under other devices/multimedia controller had the yellow question mark.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
How to identify hardware in Device Manager

right click on the other devices/multimedia controller had the yellow question mark.

from the menu choose
properties
Click on the Details Tab
Under the Property - drop down
Select hardware ids
Right click and select all
Then right click again and select copy
Copy and paste that information here

You should see a code similar to this

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

please reply with the full code for your device(s)

The portion of the code highlighted in RED is the Vendor ID and the portion highlighted in GREEN is the Device ID. In this example:

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_008A&SUBSYS_53058086&REV_34

Vendor ID = 8086
Device ID = 008A

Post back those two numbers make sure we know which is vendor ID and which is device ID

These codes can be looked up at this site http://www.pcidatabase.com/

As an example the link for that database tells us that;
Vendor ID code 8086 is for this vendor - Intel Corporation
Device ID code 008A is for this device - Intel Centrino Wireless-N1030


------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

gracie1979

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
56
Hi Wayne,

Here is the full details code for the multimedia audio controller...

PCI\VEN_1102&DEV_0004&SUBSYS_10031102&REV_04\4&1C660DD6&0&10F0

Thanks
 

gracie1979

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
56
While trying to install driver R80459, it said "setup could not find any previous version of Creative Diagnostics installed Setup will now exit". Installation complete, your computer has to be restarted for the changes to take effect.
 

gracie1979

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
56
Wow! Hi "Managed", I tried your suggestion and it worked! Thank you and thank you Wayne!
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,442
your welcome, (y) I thought it was only an update and hence the issues - and was looking on the dell site for a full driver - but managed spotted they don't have a full driver dah!!!!!!!! and pointed you to the next best place

(y) managed

i would save that driver in a safe place - in case you need it in the future
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,063
Hope you didn't mind me stepping in etaf, I noticed it had been a while since you had posted so I did some googling and was lucky enough to find that info.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,442
No NOT at all , I dont mind at all - its all about getting a solution
I'm in UK timezone - so normally not around this time at night
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,063
No NOT at all , I dont mind at all - its all about getting a solution
I'm in UK timezone - so normally not around this time at night
Ok, I agree it's all about getting a solution !

I'm in the UK too but I'm a night-owl.

Glad it's working now.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top