Solved: Audio help - No device found

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Banderson

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
9
I recently got rid of XP Professional and had Windows XP Media Center Edition Service Pack 3 (build 2600) installed by a repair guy after my system locked up. Since then I have no audio, when I go to Volume and sound options it just says "No audio device" and says everything is working properly. I know I have a card or onboard audio device as it worked perfectly before. Also nothing is missing inside the case. I do not know what is going on. Someone please help me, before I pull all my hair out.

Operating System
Windows XP Media Center Edition Service Pack 3 (build 2600)
Install Language: English (United States)
System Locale: English (United States)

System Model
HP Pavilion 061 EG134AA-ABA a1230n 0nx1114RE101AMBEM00
Enclosure Type: Desktop

Processor
2.20 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
64-bit ready
Not hyper-threaded

Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTek Computer INC. Amberine M 1.03
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 3.07 07/29/2005

Drives
200.04 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
174.79 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

ASUS CD-S480/A5 [CD-ROM drive]
HP DVD Writer 1140i [CD-ROM drive]

Generic USB CF Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 3
Generic USB MS Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 5
Generic USB SD Reader USB Device [Hard drive] (509 MB) -- drive 2
Generic USB SM Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 4
OEI-USB CF/SM/SD/MS USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 1
ST3200822AS [Hard drive] (200.05 GB) -- drive 0, SMART Status: Healthy

Memory Modules
960 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Slot 'A0' has 512 MB
Slot 'A1' has 512 MB
Slot 'A2' is Empty
Slot 'A3' is Empty

Local Drive Volumes
c: (NTFS on drive 0) 200.04 GB 174.79 GB free

Controllers
Primary IDE Channel [Controller] (2x)
Secondary IDE Channel [Controller] (2x)
Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller (2x)

Bus Adapters
Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller
Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller (2x)

Communications
PCI Data Fax SoftModem with SmartCP

1394 Net Adapter
Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC

Other DevicesVIA OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
HID-compliant consumer control device
HID-compliant device
USB Human Interface Device (3x)
Lexmark 3100 Series
HID Keyboard Device
HID-compliant mouse
Generic USB Hub (2x)
USB Composite Device
USB Mass Storage Device (2x)
USB Printing Support
USB Root Hub (3x)

Hope that helps... It also says in belarc that there are no Multimedia Devices
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
4,221
You got rid of XP Media Center....what did you install in it's place? And how did you install? Did you reinstall the sound card drivers?
 

Banderson

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
9
Sorry, I actually had xp professional. My pc had locked up, I took it to a repair guy and he installed Windows XP Media Center Edition Service Pack 3 (build 2600). Since he had done it for me I'm not so sure how he did it. I also do not know what the card is or what drivers I need. Not sure if it's a card or onboard, not to pc savy. However, I did open my case and found some things that might leave a clue two chips on my motherboard read - RTL8101L (GOOGLED http://www.realtek.com.tw/products/productsView.aspx?Langid=1&PFid=6&Level=5&Conn=4&ProdID=15)
And - ATI IXP 400 (GOOGLED http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&q=ATI+IXP+400&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=)

I hope that helps, again sorry. I don't know squat about computers other than how to use em
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
4,221
That's strange as Media Center needs to be installed onto a media center ready computer. :confused:

Did he give you the licensed copy of this operating system so that you could reinstall later if necessary?

Where is your XP Pro (the better operating system) now? The install cd? Did you pay this guy to futher downgrade your computer???????? :eek:
 

Banderson

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
9
I was not given a copy from him, I also never got my Prof installation cd from bestbuy, the pc was their last one on display. So we weren't even aware that it was supposed to come with it. Abd sadly yes I paid him $20 to "Fix" my problems... :(
 

Banderson

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
9
Also when Prof locked up it was asking for an "Administrator Password". When I boot my PC I have two OS's to choose from. Media and Prof. However; when I try to boot prof my pc just keeps restarting. Dunno if that helps but who knows eh
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
4,221
Sounds like he left you with a real mess. I guess $20 to break your system even further isn't that large of a loss.

You should go to the HP website, and see if you can find drivers for your system. The XP drivers should work. I think HP has an area where it will ID your system, you may have to enter the model number or a serial number....not sure which.
 

Banderson

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
9
OMFG! HOLY ****! Thank you so much man! It worked! Your one hell of a life saver man! Thank you so much!
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2006
Messages
4,221
You're welcome! Enjoy. You can mark the thread solved at the top of your first post.

Have a good one.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top