1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Authentication failed error msg

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by JoeE, Feb 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JoeE

    JoeE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    I am using Outlook 2007.

    In the past two days, I have started getting error messages on two email accounts that read: "Authentication failed. Please check your user name and password for the account....."

    I have correct username and password. I send and receive messages from both accounts. Yet this 'authentication failed" message keeps popping up every five minutes or so requiring me to stop what I doing and click off the error message.

    This is frustrating. Would appreciate any advice.

    Joe
     
  2. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Are you on a network, possibly using a virtual private network, or is this a stand-alone PC?
     
  3. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Oh, and is this a wireless setup or not?
     
  4. JoeE

    JoeE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Thank you. I am using a stand alone PC wired through a router that is connected to a DSL line.
     
  5. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    are either of your accounts on web email setups (e.g. Yahoo, Gmail...)?
     
  6. JoeE

    JoeE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Both accounts are through 1and1.com
     
  7. nickrichards

    nickrichards

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    This is probably caused by the easy login system tray utility. It is configured to specify the credentials to login to 1and1. If you changed these and did not update there, it would cause this error.

    Thanks to you as well, my wife was also running into this recently and I was trying to track it down. Since you had 1&1 too, it gave the hint I needed to find the cause so wanted to return the favor.
     
  8. JoeE

    JoeE Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks for helping it solve the problem. It is what I suspected, because the problem occurred after updating the easy login system. When I called 1and1, got the typical 'ain't our problem, call microsoft' and that puts you into a whole new labyrinth.
     
  9. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Thanks, nick, I suspected it was an ISP problem, but had no experience with 1 and 1's setup.
    JoeE, please use the button at the top of the page to mark this thread as Solved.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/800430