1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Automatic update settings changes

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by bigchalupa, May 13, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bigchalupa

    bigchalupa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    My automatic update settings keep changing from "Install updates automatically" to "Check for updates but let me choose whether to download and install them."

    I've tried the Microsoft fix-it to repair Windows update, I scanned for viruses with Windows Defender, Malwarebytes, and ESET's online scanner... they each found minor issues which were cleaned.

    The issue continues, it seems to happen every time I shutdown and start back up but I'm not sure. Can someone help me out with this? It's really getting annoying... Thanks

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8.1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770T CPU @ 2.50GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 8150 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD HD7850M, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 944398 MB, Free - 754737 MB;
    Motherboard: SAMSUNG ELECTRONICS CO., LTD., DP700A7D-S04US
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
     
  2. donetao

    donetao Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    Hi! I have dumb question. When this changes, what do you see in the setting drop down list?? Do you have to change it back to install automatically??
    I see you have windows defender disabled. What are you using for anti-virus protection??
     
  3. bigchalupa

    bigchalupa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    I use Windows Defender, I don't know why that says disabled, Action Center says its on.

    The drop down says ""Check for updates but let me choose whether to download and install them" I keep having to change it back to update automatically.
     
  4. donetao

    donetao Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    Hi Thanks for the reply. I'm not a W8 user. It may be some thing to do with Admin privileges.
    Sorry I don't have a better answer!! Could be a memory issue!! I really don't know!!
     
  5. Agye

    Agye

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    from your perspective is it the only settings thing that keeps on changing? and what about the recommended updates and Microsoft updates box are they checked or it also keeps changing?
     
  6. bigchalupa

    bigchalupa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Yes, just that setting... those other boxes stay checked.
     
  7. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Windows Defender is ON. The TSG SysInfo tool has a bug which shows WD as "Disabled". It is going to be fixed.

    T.
     
  8. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    I know that this reply does not answer your question. But, I always advise my clients to select "Download updates but let me choose whether to install them".

    Personally, I never install updates on the day they are released. I always wait for 2 days to see if there are any reports of problems - this has saved my personal computer systems on many occasions.

    T.
     
  9. bigchalupa

    bigchalupa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Anyone else have any thoughts on how to get to the bottom of this?
     
  10. donetao

    donetao Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,227
    The link provided on post 10 is for Windows 7
    bigchalupa

    is on Windows 8.1 - although generally settings are the same




    bigchalupa
    Some third party anti virus programs have been reported to cause this, although you say you are using Windows Defender and a scan only with Malwarebytes and Eset Online scanner
    , so they have not caused it


    Is there any other AV installed or WAS installed, as incomplete removal of a third party one - MAYBE although unlikely the cause.


    The other possibility is that this is a laptop and on battery power - some laptop management systems can change the setting
    This is a safety measure so that power cannot fail during installation, causing file corruption


    There are other possible causes.


    Do you have the logs from the scans if so please attach them to your reply.
     
  12. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,283
    First Name:
    Derek
    I would suggest that if you don't use W8 then don't reply to topics in W8 forum. Saying you don't know or don't use W8 suggest that you are just answering for the sake of answering and increasing your post count, not with any aim of actually offering helpful suggestions or advice that has a reasonable chance of curing/solving the problem.
    Nobody is required to answer any posts here and most users seeking help would rather have no replies than somebody saying I don't know or I don't use that OS. Stick to what you do know and offer better help that way.

    Settings in W8/W8.1 are quite different and even when they are the same settings, the way to actually get to them is very different and the majority of W7 users have a massive learning curve without installing one of the start menu programs that change W8 so it looks and acts like W7
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2015
  13. jcgriff2

    jcgriff2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    WIN + X keys will bring up a menu in W8.1/8 to get users to most Windows functions

    "Search" in W8.1/8 is basically the same as "Start Search" box in W7, Vista & W10

    To get to "Search" in W8.1/8 - swipe mouse top-right of screen; click on "Search" (or WIN+X)

    After that, one would be hard-pressed to tell the difference between W8.1/8, W7, Vista & W10

    i. e., Control Panel, Event Viewer, Device Mgr, CMD, Explorer, Run, etc... are basically the same across the various NT 6x build Windows OS' I mentioned.

    XP is NT 5x build.
     
  14. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Would make a great topic for discussion in a separate Thread.....:)

    T.
     
  15. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,227
    bigchalupa


    see post 11 please
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Automatic update
  1. NobleJ
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    169
  2. Lazyisthecat
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    259
  3. jmasten
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    735
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148176

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice