Solved: Automatic updates installed and now cannot access the internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

OceanQueen

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
11
My laptop an Acer Aspire 5735Z automatically updated and now can get local access only so I am unable to access the internet. Have tried both with a wired and wireless connection but both only give me local access. Have tried to do a system restore to several days before the update, but was unable to get the system to reset to this point and just received a message saying 'an unknown error' would not let the system go back to the week before. If I try to restore to the update point will this restore to before or after the updates or will I need to uninstall each update individually? Being such a novice at this I am now uncertain as to where to go next.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
230
Instead of restoring did you try reseting your modem or router? And then reinstalling your connection CD?
 

OceanQueen

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
11
Hi there
The first thing we did was to reset the modem and then took out the power and booted the system. As we use our office computer for downloading our emails (or occasionally webmail if away for a few days), had only ever used the laptop to access the internet via Outlook Express so have never used the connection CD on this computer (we have holiday flats and occasionally loan the laptop out for customers to surf the internet, so don't really keep anything much on it). In the network and sharing centre it is showing that we are connected to an unidentified network (Wanadoo-2F3C) with local access, but has a big red cross between the unidentified network and the Internet Globe (which is a grey colour). Also the IPv4 connectivity is showing local access whereas it would normally say internet. Having read some of the forums I think it may be something to do with the SSID (Wanadoo-2F3C) & think that somehow it has just changed our settings but I am such a novice that I am unable to solve the problem & just going round in circles.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
230
Well there is not really anything I know of to do other than reconfigure the modem gateway with the cd. I don't think the modem can connect to the internet otherwise. When I reset my modem it doesn't automatically go back online with my previous network connection. Using the CD always works instantly though. If you can't find the CD i'm sure your ISP will send you another one. Do you still have the security key for it?
 

OceanQueen

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
11
Hi Ashlee
Thanks for your help with this, will sort out the disc but not sure whether it will help as I have reinserted the WEP key and the computer is connected up to the wireless network connection but is just not connecting to the internet. Will try ringing Orange support and see if they can help me.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
230
I understand what you are saying. However if I went and reset my router right now (the security key won't disappear from my computer) I will still get back onto the local network, but the connection to the internet has disappeared. Only when I reinsert the CD will it work again. Perhaps there is another way to manually reconfigure the modem w/o the CD, but it sounds rather complicated to me.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
230
Sorry I think I have misread you. You have another computer connected to the same router that is online? And the laptop is able to get on the local network with the security key but not the internet. What happens when you click diagnose?
 

OceanQueen

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 17, 2010
Messages
11
Hi Ashlee
Just a quick reply on this thread (as I had 2 threads running for this one & you had very kindly replied on both), problem is now sorted from uninstalling Norton & very possibly was nothing to do with the updates at all. Thanks for all of your assistance.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top