1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: avgrsx.exe why so much ups used?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by MARVDIRAUX, May 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MARVDIRAUX

    MARVDIRAUX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I notice that avgrsx.exe uses excessive ups on startup in my Windows XP SP2 system. Can anyone tell me why that is and if I can change this and still use AVGFREE 8.0?
     
  2. caperjack

    caperjack

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    assuming you mean CPU usage ,it because on startup avg is doing a scan of your system ,you can wait until its finished or click on the icon by the clock and stop the scan .
     
  3. chefboyardan

    chefboyardan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    I have the same issue. AVGRSX.exe also uses too much ups, (CPU) when I open a large folder. It takes forever! I can't just stop a simple scan. ANy ideas on what this executable does? Is it really necessary?
     
  4. mikkdc

    mikkdc

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    AVGRSX.exe is the resident shield component of AVG 8.

    This is the portion of the program that scans files as they are opened, copied or moved/saved. If it detects a threat, an alert pops up asking what to do with the file (unless you set it to automatically move the file to the virus vault).

    You have 2 options to speed things up here:

    1) Disable the resident shield. This is NOT RECOMMENDED as it basically switches off real-time monitoring of files. I strongly suggest you do not disable resident shield!

    or

    2) You can manage exceptions by click the "manage exceptions" button then choosing to add a path or a list of folders. Doing this you can set up certain folders that will not be monitored thus speeding up the opening of the folders considerably if they are full of files but remember, should a virus somehow manage to get into any of the files contained in this folder AVG will not report it so you need to be pretty sure that no viruses will invade the folders you set up as exceptions.

    If you have a specific folder where all downloads from the internet, peer-to-peer programs etc go, then obviously this should NOT be set up as an exception!

    Hope that clears some things up and helps :)
     
  5. MARVDIRAUX

    MARVDIRAUX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I wish to thank all responders to my questions. They have all been very helpful . Re AVG questions.
     
  6. JohnnyPneumatic

    JohnnyPneumatic

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    This helped me identify some major system drag, disabling all my avg processes has made my laptop whip along like a brand new machine.

    Given how much slowness AVG caused, I'm better off with a virus.
     
  7. schmendrik

    schmendrik

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Having "survived" three virus infections over the past five years....with lost files and lost time and cost of IT help, let me tell you, a little 'slowness' is worth anything compared to that!

    I have scheduled AVG to do its major scans at night. But when you're transferring large files or many files, good old avgrsx.exe will kick in and that's what you paid for!:)
     
  8. JohnnyPneumatic

    JohnnyPneumatic

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I don't consider hogging 40% of system resources "a little slowness."

    Consider the evidence:

    1) You've managed to get infected repeatedly while using AV software.
    2) I run an occasional scan, but I have yet to get infected, even while running without it.

    Infections might have more to do with the user than the software.

    I would certainly not recommend most users drop the protection the software provides, but after a certain point, once you know how to avoid the main vectors, you're probably better off on your own.

    I'm not the only one who thinks this way:
    1. http://www.itsecurity.com/features/antivirus-software-020708/
    2. http://www.jimmyr.com/blog/Norton_AntiVirus_is_A_Virus_97_2007.php
     
  9. The Vole

    The Vole

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Why not just either disable the scheduled scans and run a scan manually when YOU want to, or set it to scan at a time convenient to you (like Sunday morning)?

    I do the former - the resident shield has so far picked up every virus coming in so I just scan every month or so just to be on the safe side.

    PTV
     
  10. Venrexx

    Venrexx

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    If you will be disabling anything from AVg then I would recommend getting somthing other than AVG altogether, Diabling a feature on an Anti-Virus is not recommended unless you know alot about computers and are willing to take risks
     
  11. Heedleblambeedle

    Heedleblambeedle

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    I beg to differ.

    I didn't scan with Malware Bytes, AVG, Spybot S&D, or Ad-Aware for a year, and guess what happened when I scanned?

    4 TROJAN HORSES
    198 TRACKING COOKIES
    3 ROOTKITS
    1 KEYLOGGER

    ANYBODY WHO DISABLES ANTIVIRUS OR FIREWALL IS A IDIOT!
    AND I KNOW THAT IS AN A NOT AN AN!
     
  12. Venrexx

    Venrexx

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    It all depends on the experience of the user, just because you had issues does not mean ALL people will have issues. I for instance had not scanned in over 2 years and just before installing vista I scanned to humor myself and all I had were tracking cookies, no viruses or anything harmful in the like. You cannot call people an idiot unless you know the person in general because like I said before, it all depends on the person and what they do online. Most experienced users would be smart enough to not view sites that look suspicious and stay away from porn sites and strange download sites. If you are having issues with trojans and viruses then yeah I would have to say that you are not a professional and should use a virus scan. But I would recommend reading the post I had made after this one about usefulness of AVG, it will explain users and everything.
     
  13. Heedleblambeedle

    Heedleblambeedle

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    You saying I have problems? :mad:

    I have been using computers for 15 years, have WOT, AVG Resident Shield, Sygate Personal Firewall, and all other protection you can think of!

    Go ahead, tell me something I don't know!
     
  14. Venrexx

    Venrexx

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    I can say a few things actually. People learn different things at different paces. People use computers for different purposes. Some people learn more than others in certain periods of time. I for one have been using computers for about 17 years and have been working on them for about 14 years. I have owned my own repair business and have also worked for both IBM and a local computer store as head computer tech, so I can say without hesitation yes I do know what I am talking about. I have no security whatsoever and I know how to surf the web without any form of infection or any hazard to infection, I know this all because I have done it for long enough to know what to look for. This is what I mean by an expert user, someone who does not need all those tools to use a computer and I know a few people who are as experienced as me if not more that also have no need for that stuff. So on your next post please don't go blaring off like you know everything because there will be people out there that know more than you do, like I said before and on other posts, go and look for my post on "AVG usless... or is it" and read up on it, who knows, you might learn something if you could drop your ego for about 5 seconds to read it.
    Now, tell me something I don't know :)
     
  15. Heedleblambeedle

    Heedleblambeedle

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Dude... Im a C++ developer. I use all of the Microsoft features that I can. I have been in this for 15 years. My IQ is 140.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/709220