1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: AVI quality bad when copied with Nero

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by jimmyt71, Feb 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jimmyt71

    jimmyt71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    Hi,i new to this so I need some help.When I burn an avi file to dvd the quality is poor.I have been told that my codecs are corrupted.What can I do to solve this?I have a pretty old machine and dont want to throw too much money down the drain to solve the problem.

    Please,Please help this computer virgin.
     
  2. daz1

    daz1 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,664
  3. linskyjack

    linskyjack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    22,813
    It would be helpful if you told us in what way they were "bad". When you burn an avi file to dvd, you are first converting the avi to mpeg2----That essentially compresses the images. I am not familiar with Nero, but usually you can make quality adjustments on most DVD authoring software.
     
  4. jimmyt71

    jimmyt71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    When I say bad quality I mean that the picture is pixelated.Plays perfect with media player 11, but when I try to copy it,thats when the problem starts
     
  5. paulb100

    paulb100

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,874
    ok
    use WinAVI to convert the AVI to DVD or better still use VSO Convert X to DVD and it
    will convert the .AVI AND Burn it to DVD for you.....
    ALSO BE SURE YOU HAVE DIVX/XVID CODECS INSTALLED...better still
    Goto http://www.free-codecs.com/download/K_Lite_Codec_Pack.htm and install the codec pack
    this will help solve the issue
     
  6. jimmyt71

    jimmyt71 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    I downloaded Winavi and that solved my problem.Thank you paulb100
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved quality copied
  1. RoyB16ER
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    270
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/540848

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice