1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Avira Popup removed, now what

Discussion in 'General Security' started by hudstore44, Jan 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hudstore44

    hudstore44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Ok, so I was sick of the Avira popup and I took the steps to remove it. I clicked the Deny column in the "read and execute" area. The popup is gone. Unfortunately now every time I get on the internet now I get this new popup that says "This program is blocked by group policy. For more information, contact your system administrator." This is in refernece to the impgui.exe file. Can someone tell me how to get rid of this box? I like Avira but I'm sick of this thing. I tried uninstalling and then reinstalling the program and it is still there. I have a Compaq SR5410F, Running windows 7

    I'm so sick of impgui.exe and I don't even know what it's for.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,354
    First Name:
    Derek
    http://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1197

    You need to reverse what you did and give permissions back to then program to read & execute under whatever user accounts or system accounts originally had permissions
    If you cannot then a complete reinstall of the operating system might be the only fix

    Changing permissions on files or accounts is always fraught with danger and can easily end up with unfortunate results

    Avira provide a simple way for you NOT to get the advertising that they are trying to give you without potentially wrecking your computer
     
  3. hudstore44

    hudstore44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    I had to uninstall and then reinstall it. Hope this works.
    Thanks for the help
     
  4. hudstore44

    hudstore44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    So I uninstalled Avira, restarted, cleaned the computer using ccleaner. restarted again and then reinstalled Avira. Granted I used the copy of Avira in my downloads. Last night right before going to bed the same stupid box popped open telling me that there was an issue with the ipmgui.exe file. How to I get rid of this? Do I have to go to a different virus program to get it to stop? I like Avira, but if this is going to be an issue for the rest of my computer's life, I don't like Avira that much.

    Please help,
    H
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,354
    First Name:
    Derek
    did you read the link I gave you earlier
    http://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1197

    BUT unless you reverse the file permissions you set, before trying to disable it in the approved way, it won't make any difference
    What will happen is that the file will still be the original one because you removed the permission to enable it to be deleted
     
  7. hudstore44

    hudstore44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    I tried to reverse them and it is in the system now and won't let me change anything. Tried it for 2 hours last night. My wife made me quit because I was swearing to much at the computer.

    And no I didn't read the damn thing. I will. After my next class gets over.
     
  8. hudstore44

    hudstore44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    OK, So I went and have made sure that the read and execute thing was back to "factory settings." I followed what the link says to do. I don't have the popup window telling me to update to pro or anything like that anymore. Yet, the window continues to pop up saying that "This program is blocked by group policy." How do I stop that window from consistently making its unwanted presence known?
     
  9. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,821
    Changing the file permissions to deny read and execute does not give you a error message regarding group policy. What else did you do ? Did you play with Software Restriction Policy ?
     
  10. hudstore44

    hudstore44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    This morning I uninstalled the program, cleaned the computer with ccleaner, and then even looked for any file with avira in the name and deleted that. Restarted the computer and then cleaned the computer again. Then I went to avira .com and installed a brand new free antivurs from their website. Then after waiting too long for it to install, the damn window popped up again. Shouldn't uninstalling the program clear everything associated with Avira? Do I need to scrap Avira altogether and go to another free service?

    Avira is a serviceable program, but I don't know if it is worth it to have to deal with that damn ipmgui.exe error popping up all the time.

    H
     
  11. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,821
  12. hudstore44

    hudstore44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    I'll try it later tonight, but I'm worried about that link. This was in step #1: "Note:
    This is not necessary for Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus." Which is the version that I have. That being said, maybe that was just for step #1. I'll try the rest of the steps...
     
  13. hudstore44

    hudstore44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Sorry it' been a while. I figured it out and it works. Thank you all. How do I signify that this issue is now closed?
     
  14. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,346
    First Name:
    Karen
    Can you tell us what solved the issue?

    You've already marked it solved so that's all you need to do.
     
  15. hudstore44

    hudstore44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Realizing my own stupidity solved this, kind of. After reading the threads, especially the links that were provided I fixed/uninstalled/re-installed and nothing was working. Then I remembered that my wife had put another log in account on the computer so that my sons could play games but we had control options on that one. I guess at one point I installed the Avira on that account. Once I uninstalled that one, the heavens opened and the thing was solved.

    Major thank yous to all who helped with this one. I was starting to think it was some sort of Virus.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Avira Popup
  1. GreggIllinois
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    2,877
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1141659

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice