1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Bad Shutdown, stuck in Start up Repair

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by rarodrig, Jan 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rarodrig

    rarodrig Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    369
    Win 7 laptop .Got a message of a bad shutdown. On re-start, I have been stuck in "Start Up Repair all day.
    Shutdown/power off by holding down power button.

    Then even though I selected "normal start" it again went to Start Up Repair....

    Please help!
     
  2. rarodrig

    rarodrig Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    369
    It's a Dell laptop running Win7.
     
  3. PcPhoenix

    PcPhoenix

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Can you manage to get into Safe Mode? Or does that crash as well?
     
  4. rarodrig

    rarodrig Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    369
    It starts with the message: "windows did not shutdown....." and offer a "normal" start up or the "repair" choice.
    Selecting "normal" gets a "Loading windows files" for a few a seconds then it goes to the "Repair" screen.

    Looks like Windows is corrupted.
     
  5. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,786
  6. rarodrig

    rarodrig Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    369
    thanks! Trying it now.
     
  7. rarodrig

    rarodrig Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    369
    Got into Dell's pre-boot testing and got a HDD self-test fail.

    I assume that means I need a new HDD..
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,786
  9. rarodrig

    rarodrig Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    369
    Thanks for the help!!!

    If I replace the HDD myself and have restore disks from 2012.

    Is that enough to get windows and all the programs back?
     
  10. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,786
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1141757

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice