1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Batch file to copy file and rename from the middle

Discussion in 'DOS/Other' started by golsen, Jan 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. golsen

golsen Thread Starter

I am new to writing a batch, I am going to be as specific as I can.

I need help writing a file that will copy a file from a location then rename it in another location with the middle of the first file name. Then I want to delete the original file.

For example

This is the location

copy"x:\Datasmart\FTP Downloads\Caremark\PAL 4000 D.0\FILE.CNT401.FIBMAHC.DT010113.TM163552\FIBMAHC" "x:\Datasmart\FTP Downloads\Caremark\PAL 4000 D.0\FIBMAHC.DT010113"

This is where I was originally copying the file and renaming it. So here is my batch I want to do the same process but I want to find all the FILE.CNT401 files and rename the file within them with the extension that is listed after CNT401.

Then I want to delete the existing file "File CNT401" with the name after it is completed.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, I am stuck in writing the batch for this

Thanks

Greg

2. foxidrive

foxidrive Banned

Is this a file or a folder? We have to be sure.

x:\Datasmart\FTP Downloads\Caremark\PAL 4000 D.0\FILE.CNT401.FIBMAHC.DT010113.TM163552\FIBMAHC

Do you want to copy all files in this folder
    x:\Datasmart\FTP Downloads\Caremark\PAL 4000 D.0\FILE.CNT401.FIBMAHC.DT010113.TM163552\
    to this folder
    x:\Datasmart\FTP Downloads\Caremark\PAL 4000 D.0\
    but to rename them in the format you described?

3. golsen

golsen Thread Starter

FILE.CNT401 is a folder, FIBMAHC is a file so when I copied that file FIBMAHC it is renamed at the same parent level as FILE.CNT401... THen I need to delete the original folder FILE.CNT.401