1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: batch file to read and run input file

Discussion in 'DOS/Other' started by maa3, Jan 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. maa3

maa3 Thread Starter

Hi, just joined the forum. I am new to programming. Could someone please help me write a batch file that will run an executable file A.exe say 100 times, each time using an input data file case1.dat. The input data also varies by picking up coresponding material properties from concrete.dat and steel.dat.
    Sample input file is:
    Input.dat
    Element type
    Concrete props
    Steel props
    Output
    end
    Typical concrete.dat and steel.dat files may have say 100 corresponding article lines each, to be placed specifically in say lines 4 and 6 of input.dat for each run of A.exe.
    I would be grateful if someone could please help me with this batch file using dos. I do not know how to program in visual basic so hope to get it done in dos.
    Typical concrete.dat file;
    etc up to 100 lines and
    that of steel.dat file:
    etc up to 100 lines.
    Thanks and hope to get help.

2. Squashman

Squashman Trusted Advisor

I am not understanding how this all links together. You have 3 text files. What are you expecting the output to be?
    What is the real name of your executable? That may help us as well.

3. foxidrive

foxidrive Banned

It seems to me as though the task is to take one data file "case1.dat"
    and in lines 4 and 6 he wants to replace each line from two other files.

So the first run takes line 1 from steel and concrete files and puts them in lines 4 and 6 , the 2nd run takes line 2 from steel and concrete files and puts them in lines 4 and 6, and so on.

4. maa3

maa3 Thread Starter