Solved: battery dead

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

chippynut

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
209
A young friend as a dell inspiron laptop with a dead battery and he thinks it should run on the charge lead but i say it will not produce enough power to run a o/s with out it freezing or even run on safe mode unless he fitts a new battery, but he thinks the problem with freezing and not running must mean a major component problem because it runs for five minutes on safe mode and then packs up, am i right should i buy him a battery just to prove this, thanks for any help.:confused: p/s os is vista.
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
Laptops can run just fine on a/c power. However if its not running right on that then there is other problems such as a power supply, motherboard, harddrive etc.If the computer doesnt have any problems at all then you can replace the battery and it should be ok.Just make sure the replacement battery is the correct one for that computer.
 

chippynut

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
209
Thanks sueohio, this lads laptop will only run for five minutes on the power lead in safe mode if i start it up in normal mode it freezes and will sit like that for a hour or more, the battery as been dead for two years and i would have thought that you would have needed some battery power plus the mains, but when you test the battery with the on board button at the back of the battery the five little lights come on and this is throwing us, thank you.
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
Well i guess if on a/c power its not working right then maybe you can take it somewhere and see whats wrong.it could be anything but someone will be able to give you a better answer.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,212
It should run from the charger alone or with battery and charger.

As it doesn't run for more than 5 minutes I think there is something wrong elsewhere, software or hardware.

Does the laptop get very hot ? Can you hear the fan at all ?
 

chippynut

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 12, 2009
Messages
209
Thanks for every ones help, i did not realise a laptop would run without any battery, in the end i started to test diferent components and found that it only had one 512 of ram working the other strip if put back in prevents the pc from booting up, i think vista needs far more ram than 512 and i will get the lad to purchace two gig, i have in fact never owned a laptop and was very wary of stripping it but with the help of utube videos it went ok, thank you all.
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
Vista and windows 7 need at least 2gb of ram to run properly. Windows xp does just fine on 512mb to 1 gb.Laptops for me at least are very easy to work on.Towers i wont even attempt to try to fix.With laptops you remove the battery and power cord and then you can see what needs done. On towers even with no power you still have static electricity to worry about.You are very welcome.You can mark it as solved if all is well now.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top