1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Battlefield 2142 crashing

Discussion in 'Games' started by dez_666, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dez_666

    dez_666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    So i was trying to overclock right, not too sucessful so i decided to forget it after not having much luck. Now when I try to load BF2142, after the intro video's, it crashes to the desktop, no error report or error message. I see the cursor for a split second, but thats about it. Any ideas on this, and if this was caused by overclocking? :confused:
     
  2. cancon

    cancon

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,152
    it was working before you tried to overclock?

    And what were you trying to overclock?
     
  3. dez_666

    dez_666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    Was overclocking video card, and it worked before and while (most of the time) while i was OC'ing. :(
     
  4. cancon

    cancon

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,152
    hmmm...do any other games work?
     
  5. dez_666

    dez_666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    Have not tested :D But I bet some will work..like starcraft...let me test some. :cool:
     
  6. dez_666

    dez_666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    Okay starcraft works, Oblivion does not. I ran DxDiag and ran the display tests on there and they all checked out. *shrug* :)
     
  7. cancon

    cancon

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,152
    hmmm...it's probably a good idea to re-install your graphics drivers.

    Always worth a try.
     
  8. dez_666

    dez_666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    Well I just installed DirectX 10, going to uninstall BF2142, pop the drivers in and then reinstall BF2142. Hopefully something got corrupted and my card isnt boned :D
     
  9. BlooChoo

    BlooChoo

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,088
    i assume it was just software overclocking? and you went back and undid exaclty what u did? what GPU have you got cos it might not be a prob with the overclocking...it could be the Directx 10!!!
     
  10. dez_666

    dez_666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    Umm, it was software OC, and yes i undid it. I have a BFG Tech GeForce 6200 OC 256MB AGP.

    (Notice the OC :D)

    Anyways i dont think directx10 caused it cos that wasnt installed when the problem occured. However, i did experience a few lockups and other wierd things while overclocking, but i didnt see any funny triangles or white dots which is what i hear if you're OC'ing too much..

    But id really like to play BF2142 again. :mad:
     
  11. ACA529

    ACA529

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    6,117
    Did you try a reinstall of 2142?
     
  12. dez_666

    dez_666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    What I did after it stopped working and I stopped overclocking was this: Installed DirectX10, uninstalled battlefield 2142, installed new video drivers from the BFG Technologies website, and then reinstalled Battlefield 2142 from the disc and applied patches and Northern Strike. no cigar >_>
     
  13. kryptonite1055

    kryptonite1055

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    243
    you should not have DirectX10 installed. The only cards that can run it are the 8X00 series by nvidia, and the 2X00 series form ATI. Also you need vista. You need to get DirectX 9c.
     
  14. dez_666

    dez_666 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    842
    Why do I need vista? >_>
    And can you tell me how to downgrade directX versions?
     
  15. cancon

    cancon

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,152
    OH! You're running XP???

    Why didn't you say so!!!

    DirectX 10 only runs on vista!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/593559

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice