1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Belkin Router - need to reset password

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Chicken5, Jul 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chicken5

    Chicken5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Hi

    I have a Belkin Router, model F5D7230-4 & I have forgotten the password. I was advised to hit the reset button on the back (& hold for 10 seconds) however, once I have done that, the Internet light continues to flash & does not stay bold so i lose internet connection.

    I have unplugged the router & rewired but with no joy - can you advise please?

    Thanks
     
  2. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    When you do a reset it resets the entire router..all settings etc
    You will have to manually enter everything back in.
    It sounds as if you have a static IP and need to re enter the info
    If you dont have a static ip then try the following
    Turn off the pc
    Unlug your modem and router for about 30 seconds
    plug in your modem..wait for it to get done with its thing..some can take a long time actually
    I have seen a couple take 2 minutes or so.
    Now plug in the router...wait about 30 seconds and power up the pc.
    The above gives all the equipment a chance to start over basically...assign a new ip if needed..renew a "lease" on an ip if needed
    Give the router and the pc a chance to assign a new "network" ip as well
     
  3. dant22185

    dant22185

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    Do you need your password to get into the router configuration menu or do you need your network access key?
     
  4. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi:Hold the reset button in for at least 15 seconds.The default password should be in your router users manual.
     
  5. dant22185

    dant22185

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    260
    From what I have read, belkins do not have a pre-configured password by default. You simply hit enter at the log in screen.
     
  6. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    And that also,should be in the user's manual :D
     
  7. Chicken5

    Chicken5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Ok - I don't know who to respond to first!
    I don't have the manual. Nothing comes up on screen to ask for a login or password.

    To aka Brett - how do I know if I have a static IP?

    Sorry but I am very IT-illiterate!
     
  8. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
  9. Chicken5

    Chicken5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you - I've saved that in my favourites!

    ...and unplugging everything & rebooting has worked so problem solved - thank you all for your help
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Belkin Router
  1. wr7777
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    862
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/938578

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice