1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Best codec to use for Wma ?

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by j-mcallister, Jan 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. j-mcallister

    j-mcallister Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    hey i google this and it came up with so many i just wanted to know what the lastest and safest one is ?


    many thanks james
     
  2. j-mcallister

    j-mcallister Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    ne one ne ideas ???
     
  3. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    How about the one that comes with WMP.
     
  4. j-mcallister

    j-mcallister Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    its not playing a file for me and i need to update
     
  5. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    What version of WMP do you have and what is the error message that you're getting? Does WMP work for another format or for video?
     
  6. j-mcallister

    j-mcallister Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    i have wmp 10 and unable to update to 11 for personal reasons... it normally plays but just this group of files it won't
     
  7. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    You mean it plays for some .wma files, but not for others? Can you an example of a filename.
     
  8. j-mcallister

    j-mcallister Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    .avi is mainly the type i have trouble wit
     
  9. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    Those are video files. Did you try installing WMP 11 and then roll it back? Have you done anything to WMP recently?
     
  10. j-mcallister

    j-mcallister Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    hmm i updated a divx codec and wen i had problems with the exploer.exe it was the codec that was giving me trouble ! so wen i uninstalled it wmp would not play the file ne more.
     
  11. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
  12. j-mcallister

    j-mcallister Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    cheers man...i'll let u no how it goes !
     
  13. j-mcallister

    j-mcallister Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    I downloaded a codec update and it seems to be working fine again man... thanks for the help man
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/539304

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice