1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: bfv and 1942 won't install

Discussion in 'Games' started by HEADER, Jan 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HEADER

    HEADER Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    wife has unistalled both games and now when i go into autorun the install button for both games is not highlighted and there is no way it will install i have xp windows please help very frustrated
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Go to the cd-rom drive, right click and choose open. from there select the setup.exe file.
     
  3. HEADER

    HEADER Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    20
     
  4. HEADER

    HEADER Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    When I Choose Open Under D: Thers Is No Files At All
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    stupid question here but did you have the CD in the drive at the time?
     
  6. HEADER

    HEADER Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    sorry did'nt have disk in. I don't know to much about computers but love to play games.

    I have setup.inx
    setup-windows picture&fax viewer
    setup that installs installwizard
    and setup note pad but no setup.exe file. where would i find it
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    it may just say setup. The icon usually looks like a computer icon. If you see Autorun.exe or just autorun (the icon is a CD) then you can use that too.
     
  8. HEADER

    HEADER Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    i can't seem to find these when i open disk this all folders and icons that are there i hope this helps

    folders
    autorun
    ereg
    geforce
    redist
    support


    icons
    000000etc.016
    000000etc.256
    000000etc1....
    000000etc2....
    autorun(this takes me to installation and where it won't let me install
    autorun-notepad(nothing in here that has your description on what to change though)
    bfdist.vlu
    bfvietnam(icon)
    data1
    data1.hdr
    data2
    drvmgt.dll
    ikernel
    layout
    lexiconaut....
    secdrv
    setup icons mentioned in previous replys
    whck64.dll
    whck.dll

    i have 3 disks for this game this is from the first disk should i check other 2 disks

    thank you for your patience and help
    shane
     
  9. haplo210

    haplo210

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    997
    does it give you an error message when you try to install?
     
  10. Kramer55

    Kramer55

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    are those folders when you click on the D drive?

    if so (not sure if I am understanidn g you completely) click on autorun
     
  11. HEADER

    HEADER Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    haplo 210
    no error message just won't light up install icon to use but uninstall icon is lit up when i click on uninstall nothing happens
     
  12. HEADER

    HEADER Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    kramer 55
    yes that is when i open d drive for 1st disk
    when i click on autorun it goes to the intstall wizardshield then takes around 15 minutes to load asking for all 3 disk's but doesn't ask to put security code in which i think is strange. after it has completed and i go to play there has been nothing installed to folders on hard drive. i hope this makes sense.
    thank you for help
     
  13. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    try this. There is a link on the post to EAs site. It might help you even though it's a different issue.
     
  14. HEADER

    HEADER Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    went on to battlefield link messages and other gamers are having same problem tried to do what they said but couldn't find what they we're talking about
     
  15. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    Stupid Question:
    Are you selecting the right drive, its not always "D" my cd drives are "D,E,&F"
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/323545