1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Bios setup problem Gigabyte MB

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by musicmad, Nov 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. musicmad

    musicmad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Hi Everybody

    Some years since I last posted here. Just goes to show how more reliable and stable hardware and software has become!

    Here is my problem

    In 2005 I bought a computer with a Gigabyte MB Model GA81915P duo pro Rev 1

    This mb provides 3 IDE channels and 4 Sata channels with intel 915p chipset and Via VT6410 raid controller

    The system was set up in the retailer with 1 x 160mb ide hard drive.

    I have bought 2 sata hard drives that I wish to install without raid configuration and remove the ide drive. The bios set up will not allow me to enable the sata ports.

    I can navigate through bios setup main menu items but cannot navigate through or change within say advance bios features, I can read them but the up down arrow keys do not work. So I cannot enable the sata ports [which are currently disabled.

    Any suggestions please
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    check the sata was installed with the chipset drivers,being as you were running ide they may not have installed them
     
  3. musicmad

    musicmad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Thank you dia for a prompt reply.

    I had suspected that the full driver set was not installed and I no longer have the MB disc that was supplied with the system.

    I will download the drivers from the gigabyte site for Sata RAID/AHCI install and let you know the result

    Thanks again
     
  4. musicmad

    musicmad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Downloaded Intel Sata drivers. the files self extracted ok but did not install. the only visible result is the manual showing how to set up raid

    Should I attempt to clear the cmos! and try again
     
  5. musicmad

    musicmad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Ignore my last post, the executable file was iata_cd.exe.

    However when this file was run it informed me that my system did not meet the minimum requirements. I checked these requirements and could find no reason why this message should appear.

    I notice that the Via Raid controller is installed for the IDE channels. Is this significant?
     
  6. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    what version of windows are you running
     
  7. musicmad

    musicmad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    xp pro sp3
     
  8. musicmad

    musicmad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Had my drivers checked by the intel website it says all ok!
     
  9. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    xp does not have sata drivers as sata was not around when xp was released

    slipstream the sata drivers into the xp disk with nlite

    http://www.nliteos.com/

    then use the updated xp disk to boot from and run the format
     
  10. musicmad

    musicmad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Which version number of nlite?

    My xp install cd is sp2 Am I doing a complete re install here or do i choose third party raid install
     
  11. musicmad

    musicmad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Just read how to slipstream so will give it a go
     
  12. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    also slipstream sp3 at the same time
     
  13. musicmad

    musicmad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    I have sp3 on disc can I update after I have the sata working
     
  14. musicmad

    musicmad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    I have a floppy drive. Should I download the sata drivers to floppy and then F6 at the apropriate point during the re install?

    I am assuming that the only way to install the sata drivers is to do a reinstall of the OS as they cannot be inserted directly into the currently installed OS! Is that correct?

    I followed some blow by blow instructions to slipstream the drivers using nLite which seemed to work ok but the image burn of the disc failed

    will continue trying all possible ways but would appreciate it very much if someone could point me in the direction of a step by step guide to slipstreaming into an xp desktop

    Thanks Again
     
  15. musicmad

    musicmad Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    This is the sata file I am attempting to slip

    imsm_driver_windows_x86-64_v7.8.0.1012

    Which contains 32 and 64 bit files, I also have the floppy F6 files,
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1113051

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice