1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Bios text unreadable.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by elizab, May 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. elizab

    elizab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    hello to you all.
    When the computer first starts the very first screen with the graphics details and some other stuff which is only on for a split sececond is quite normal and readable. white text on a black background.

    Until recently i have been able to enter bios using the delete key and do what ever I need to do. The text is mostly yellow on a blue background.
    Now when I enter bios I get the blue background and white lines vertical mostly and sometimes a series of vertical yellows symbols same color as the text.
    I took these four pics with a cannon digital camera A650.
    i have replaced the motherboard battery. reset Cmos .
    no change. each time I go to bios the resulting screen can be Quite different.
    If I let the computer boot up normally It is fine and everything works as normal.
    I have a K7 M852 motherboard with AMD 2.5 CPU.
    Graphics card is a AGP radeon 9200 SE.
    Hope this is enough info,
    thanks from
    Eliza.

    PS the shiny glow on the screen is the flash reflection.

    [​IMG]
    below is a close up of the one above

    [​IMG]

    Here are results from a bios scan I have just done.
    maybe someone else can make some sense out of it
    thanks from Eliza.

    - (system summary) Good Bad Download
    Check foro BIOS Update
    BIOS
    Phoenix-Award

    Disk Drives
    WDC WD800BB-00JHC0 Good
    Display adapters
    RADEON 9200 SE Family (Microsoft Corporation) Bad
    RADEON 9200 SE SEC Family (Microsoft Corporation) Bad
    DVD/CD-ROM drives
    LITE-ON COMBO SOHC-5232K Good
    IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
    VIA Bus Master IDE Controller Bad
    Keyboards
    Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard Good
    Mice and other pointing devices
    PS/2 Compatible Mouse Good
    Monitors
    Plug and Play Monitor Good
    Network adapters
    Linksys Wireless-G PCI Adapter Good
    VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter Bad
    Ports
    Communications Port (COM1) Good
    ECP Printer Port (LPT1) Good
    Processors
    AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2500+ Good
    Printers
    Brother HL-2040 series Good
    Sound, video and game controllers
    VIA AC'97 Enhanced Audio Controller (WDM) Bad
    System Devices
    VIA CPU to AGP2.0/AGP3.0 Controller Good
    VIA Standard Host Bridge Bad
    VIA Standard PCI to ISA Bridge Bad
    Universal Serial Bus controllers
    VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller Good
    VIA USB Enhanced Host Controller Notes

    BIOS Type: Phoenix-Award
    BIOS Date: December 29th 2003
    BIOS ID: 12/29/2003-KT400A-8235-M852C-00-None
    BIOS OEM: M852 12/29/2003 - 6.00 PG
    Chipset: VIA 82C3189 rev 128
    SuperIO: ITE 8705/SiS 950 rev 2 at port 002E
    Manufacturer: VIA Technologies, Inc.
    Motherboard: KT400A-8235
     
  2. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    I would try a different video card.
     
  3. elizab

    elizab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    I will try that and get back to you on the results.
     
  4. elizab

    elizab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    well I have put in another AGP card taken from another computer which is working fine including reading the bios.
    It has made no difference to this computer. the bios text is still scrambled.
    I have been told by someone else that the bios does not use the graphics card as far as the bois text is concerned. Is this correct? .
    I also put this graphics card into the other computer and everything works fine including the bios.
    I am now going to dissconnect everything possible out of this computer.
    floppy disc drive.
    cdrom.
    1 stick of ram.
    the harddrive.

    Will put in another empty formatted harddrive and see if the bios works. I will need the bios to work because the only way this computer recognises a new harddrive is by manually doing it inside bios.
    unless someone knows of another way to recognize the new harddrive outside Bios.

    I will keep you informed of my results.
    If anyone has other sensible suggestions please put them up.
    thanks from Eliza.
     
  5. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Try the monitor from the other computer.
    It may be that the basic vesa on the monitor
    has failed.
     
  6. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,185
    Many video cards use the system memory for video. If you have more than one memory stick, try them both one at a time.
     
  7. elizab

    elizab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    thanks leroys1000.
    yes I have done what you suggested and wow what a thrill to see the Bios back as it should be.
    I will sleep well tonight now.
    Thank goodness i read your reply before I dismantled the computer.
    the monitor that I was using is a compaq - hewlett packard
    model No 1707 17 " Jan 2007.
    The monitor works fine otherwise shows movies and animation without jerkiness although can only use it on 60 hertz.

    One thing about the bios though I was looking a at a site which gives the beep codes see under and My com used to beep once always when starting but there is now no beep at all so maybe i have another problem which is not apparent.


    1 short beep
    Normal POST - system is ok 2 short beeps POST Error - error code shown on screen No beep Power supply or
    problem Continuous beep Power supply, system board, or keyboard problem Repeating short beeps Power supply or system board problem 1 long, 1 short beep System board problem 1 long, 2 short beeps Display adapter problem (MDA, CGA) 1 long, 3 short beeps Enhanced Graphics Adapter (EGA) 3 long beeps 3270 keyboard card
     
  8. elizab

    elizab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    a short update.
    had a check of the settings on the LCD monitor (which I have never really looked at before) there is one called "Factory reset" which I did and Hey presto the bios is no readable plus the text in emails (Outlook express) is much clearer.
    Thanks for all your help,guys.
     
  9. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Had a friend that had a somewhat similar problem.
    Wasn't long til the monitor failed completely.
    Hope yours fairs better.
     
  10. elizab

    elizab Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    What I dont understand is how the settings of the monitor can change on there own.
    No one else goes on this computer and I have never ever looked at the monitor settings until yesterday.
    well as they say " get what you pay for'' "Caveat emptor"
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/921556

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice