1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Blank icons

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Dingus, Feb 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dingus

    Dingus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Hi there, can anyone tell me why I keep getting icons that look like this
     

    Attached Files:

  2. vanillag1rl

    vanillag1rl

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,124
    whats your OS, browser and your connection?
     
  3. Dingus

    Dingus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    I have ME, IE and DSL. Promise I did'nt swallow the alphabet. :)
     
  4. vanillag1rl

    vanillag1rl

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,124
    lol
    Does it do it to all web sites or just this one?
     
  5. vanillag1rl

    vanillag1rl

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,124
  6. sekirt

    sekirt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,998
    Red Xs?
    There are several possible causes...you don't have to upgrade.

    1. Click View - in the US set on western European (ISO)
    In Europe, western European (windows).
    2. Your JAVA may be corrupt
    3. Maybe your firewall is at fault.
    4. Some Pop-Up stoppers will block images.
    5. Make sure your cache, history, temp files are deleted.
    6. Set IE to defaults. Tools-->Internet Options. Click all default buttons.
    7. Repair IE if needed. Instructions depend on what version. I think ME is the same as Win 98: Click Start. Click Run. Type: MSINFO32
    When it comes up, Click Tools. Repair IE option will be there. It may tell you that a repair cannot be made. In that case go to MS and reinstall over the top. Your favorites, emails, etc remain intact when you do that.

    You can also search the forum for red X problems. There are many, many posts on it.

    sekirt
     
  7. vanillag1rl

    vanillag1rl

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,124
    That replie i made was to goto someone who had a similar problem, but the pictures would load, and he had IE 5.
    Sorry lol. I was wondering why my reply didnt post on his thread. I had to type it all over.

    The only question I had to this one, does it happen to just this site or all?
     
  8. Dingus

    Dingus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    It happens on all sites and I've also got the most recent Ver.
    I also tried disabling my anti virus/firewall.
     
  9. vanillag1rl

    vanillag1rl

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,124
    Well try this
    goto
    Tools>>>internet Options

    Then click on the connections tab

    goto LAN Settings...

    and click, automatically detect settings.
     
  10. vanillag1rl

    vanillag1rl

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,124
    which firewall do you have?
     
  11. Dingus

    Dingus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    The LAN was auto but I clicked it anyway and Norton internet Security.
     
  12. jdemnyan1116

    jdemnyan1116

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2000
    Messages:
    849
    I had a similiar problem and had to update my shockwave Active X and the Shockwave flash. You can find it at www.macromedia.com/shockwave/welcome. If it needs updated, it will let you know. Antivirus and firewall are not the major cause. A very small problem at best from the firewall and antivirus. The new SP2 download if you installed it also has a problem with the red X's showing. It is usually something that needs upgraded.
     
  13. Dingus

    Dingus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Thanks for your input jd, I downloaded mac but it did'nt make any difference.
     
  14. sekirt

    sekirt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,998
    From your posts, it's unclear if you have gone through my entire list?

    You can also try iefix. Download and save to a folder. Close down all open windows and programs. Then run it. You will have to reboot when it finishes.

    For Windows version (Win 98/ME/2000/XP) - Download iefix:
    http://www.winxptutor.com/download/iefix.zip

    It is a general purpose repair utility for Internet Explorer which repairs Internet Explorer by registering it's core DLL files. Additionally if it detects Windows 2000/XP as the Operating System, it runs SFC to restore missing or corrupt Windows system files.

    Requires Microsoft VB6 runtimes for Windows 98/ME systems, download here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...61-7A9C-43E7-9117-F673077FFB3C&displaylang=en

    sekirt
     
  15. Dingus

    Dingus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Yes Sekirt I've followed every fix but to date I've still got the problem. :(
    In fact here's another example from the reply box.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/331359

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice