1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Blank screen when booting from XP installation CD

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ojasookas, Jun 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ojasookas

    ojasookas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Hi there!

    I am trying to do a clean install for Windows XP. I inserted the bootable CD and started the computer. It asked "press any key to boot from cd" as usual. I pressed a key and "inspecting hardware configuration" appeared.

    Unfortunately just a second after that screen turned blank and stayed so. I tried many times and waited a while also. Didn't help.

    If it is relevant, Windows Vista is currently installed to the computer. I'd like to format the C: drive and substitute Vista to XP again. Thought, that it doesn't matter when running XP installation from boot cd, but who knows.

    Thanks for Your help!
     
  2. abcdjzmcbt

    abcdjzmcbt

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Is this the factory 'official' CD? Or the "I just wanted to make a copy in case I lose this" CD ;). You may want to unplug all non essential hardware and try again. Even unplugging the internal usb cord to the motherboard helps sometimes. Do you have another graphics card you can put in and see how far you get?
     
  3. ojasookas

    ojasookas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    It's factory official CD. Computer is actually a laptop with no (at least external) hardware attached and unfortunately I don't have another graphics card to try.

    Thanks for fast answer though! Any more ideas?
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Was there some problem with the machine that made you want to try XP?

    Is the CD clean, unscratched, etc.?
     
  5. ozziebeanie

    ozziebeanie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,329
    Where I worked we received some laptops (New) with Vista installed, you either (if new laptops) have to use the discs they give you to, as they call it (“down grade to XP”) before, it will let you load your own version of XP Pro, I don’t know how that was rigged up but we where unable to install our very legit version of XP till we had done this.

    We had ordered laptops saying we did not want Vista so they sent it as it was already loaded and sent us Discs to “down grade”, Even though we where not using their version of XP Pro we had to for some reason accept it till it was loaded then change the versions of XP

    Don’t know if that is happening to your one, you did not say if it was a new one with it preloaded. Might not have anything to do with what is going on with your one, but just thought i would throw that in as possible.
     
  6. ojasookas

    ojasookas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    There was XP before (the same one, I'm trying to install now). It was switched to Vista because need for special software out only for Vista. Now there are some driver problems and that special software is not needed anymore.

    CD seems to be perfectly fine. It reads well, when op-sys is running. Only I haven't managed to boot.
     
  7. abcdjzmcbt

    abcdjzmcbt

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Have you ever managed to reload your OS with that CD before? Sometimes it can be a bad burn from the mfg. Though very rare, I have seen it before. Also considering the Vista install disc worked well I'm guessing.

    One thing I want you to try that may help us brainstorm. When it starts inspecting configuration while its still working hit your caps lock key a few times. See if the caps lock light goes on and off. If so, wait till the screen goes black and try it again. Does it still let you turn it off and on? If so then the computer is still responsive during that time. If not the computer may have locked up completely.
     
  8. ojasookas

    ojasookas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Hi again,

    Today I first tried to restore BIOS defaults (just in case). Still checked, that CD-drive is the first booting device.

    I also tried that WinXp CD for test booting my other computer. Worked fine and fast.

    Then I did that caps lock test. The light works, so it's not so dead. But sound of reading CD stops, processor working light doesn't show any activity and screen is black for a long time.

    So I'm still stuck.
     
  9. abcdjzmcbt

    abcdjzmcbt

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Do you have an extra desktop monitor around? Does your laptop have the external monitor jack in the back of it. If so I would try hooking the monitor into the back of the laptop and make your bios use that instead of your laptop monitor. I think maybe the cd and activity indicator stops because it spins down after it finishes inspecting configuration and is waiting for you to hit enter, R, or F3 to exit.

    That gets me thinking. When it goes black wait for the cd to spin down again then hit ENTER, wait 5 seconds then hit F8. Does the CD spin up again? If so, then it is definitely a vid card/driver issue. If not, then we will be back at square one unfortunately.
     
  10. ojasookas

    ojasookas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    I don't have an extra monitor. Tried hitting enter and F8 - no result.
     
  11. printmatt

    printmatt

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Just to be on the safe side and rule out the CD, I suggest try to use the boot the CD on another computer and see if opens the installation GUI for XP.
     
  12. abcdjzmcbt

    abcdjzmcbt

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    I think the OP already tried it on another computer. Unless you are talking about actually copying the setup files...

    As for your issue I'm not quite sure yet. I am gonna have to think about it some more and my day has been hectic, sorry. I will sleep on it and let you know.
     
  13. ojasookas

    ojasookas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Yes, I did try the CD on another computer. It worked both ways: booting and playing while running operating system. Thanks for thinking with me!
     
  14. ojasookas

    ojasookas Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Hi there!

    Finally I found a solution! The hard drive had two partitions. That bothered the boot-CD. I booted from Linux-based operating system called Ubuntu and used its Partition Manager. I removed unnecessary partition and created new one, which holds all of the capacity. Then I tried to boot from XP CD again and it worked.

    Great thanks to everyone who answered, especially to abcdjzmcbt for trying to find a solution!
     
  15. abcdjzmcbt

    abcdjzmcbt

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Great! I'm glad you found the solution. Very interesting. I didn't think the setup CD really cared what partitions were on the drive BEFORE it even gets to the "partition management screen". I'm glad it turned out to be a "software" issue and not a hardware conflict. Very useful solution, thanks for sharing. :D
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/839435