Solved: Blue Screen on Vista 64

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

joemoshi

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2000
Messages
185
I seem to be getting the blue screen more often lately especially if I click on a video. The computer then dumps the data and restarts and the following is the error: The computer is HP Pavillion a6535c desktop.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 4105

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: d1
BCP1: 0
BCP2: 2
BCP3: 1
BCP4: FFFFFA6000E28D30
OS Version: 6_0_6002
Service Pack: 2_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini012415-01.dmp
C:\Users\JOE2\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-150759-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\JOE2\AppData\Local\Temp\WER114E.tmp.version.txt

Read our privacy statement:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=50163&clcid=0x0409

Can someone help me resolve this problem? Thanks
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
Hi, post the Minidump files.
Look in c:\windows\minidump
ZIP them and attach them to your next post.

Right-click the minidump file, select Send To.
Then select Compressed (zipped) Folder.
Windows will compress the file and then save the new zipped file in the same location.
 

joemoshi

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2000
Messages
185
I found the dump files, right clicked one file (they are all the same size), clicked send to zipped but the operation could not continue because it could it create it. It asked to put it on my desktop. I clicked yes. It said no file here. I went online for a program to open the dump files but was not sure what software to select.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
Try this - create a new folder on the desktop and call it dumpfiles [or something similar]
Copy the last 6 minidump files to that folder.
Close the folder and then right click on it and select Send To Compressed [zipped] Folder.
Windows will compress the file and then save the new zipped file in the same location.

Then use the 'manage attachments' in the 'Go Advanced' reply window below - to upload that zip file here as an attachment.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (d1)
An attempt was made to access a pageable (or completely invalid) address at an
interrupt request level (IRQL) that is too high. This is usually
caused by drivers using improper addresses.
Debugging Details:
------------------

FAULTING_IP:
ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0
fffffa60`00e31d30 488901 mov qword ptr [rcx],rax

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 2

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR: 0xD1

PROCESS_NAME: System

STACK_COMMAND: kb

FOLLOWUP_IP:
ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0
fffffa60`00e31d30 488901 mov qword ptr [rcx],rax

SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 3

SYMBOL_NAME: ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: ndis

IMAGE_NAME: ndis.sys

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 49e02df3

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0xD1_ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0

BUCKET_ID: X64_0xD1_ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0

Followup: MachineOwner
--------
DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (d1)
An attempt was made to access a pageable (or completely invalid) address at an
interrupt request level (IRQL) that is too high. This is usually
caused by drivers using improper addresses.

Debugging Details:
------------------
WRITE_ADDRESS: 0000000000000000

CURRENT_IRQL: 2

FAULTING_IP:
ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0
fffffa60`00e31d30 488901 mov qword ptr [rcx],rax

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 2

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR: 0xD1

PROCESS_NAME: System

STACK_COMMAND: kb

FOLLOWUP_IP:
ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0
fffffa60`00e31d30 488901 mov qword ptr [rcx],rax

SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 3

SYMBOL_NAME: ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: ndis

IMAGE_NAME: ndis.sys

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 49e02df3

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0xD1_ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0

BUCKET_ID: X64_0xD1_ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0

Followup: MachineOwner
====
*******************************************************************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
*******************************************************************************

DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (d1)
An attempt was made to access a pageable (or completely invalid) address at an
interrupt request level (IRQL) that is too high. This is usually
caused by drivers using improper addresses.
If kernel debugger is available get stack backtrace.
Debugging Details:
------------------

WRITE_ADDRESS: GetPointerFromAddress: unable to read from fffff80006635080
0000000000000000

CURRENT_IRQL: 2

FAULTING_IP:
ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0
fffffa60`00e28d30 488901 mov qword ptr [rcx],rax

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR: 0xD1

PROCESS_NAME: setup.exe

STACK_COMMAND: kb

FOLLOWUP_IP:
ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0
fffffa60`00e28d30 488901 mov qword ptr [rcx],rax

SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 3

SYMBOL_NAME: ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: ndis

IMAGE_NAME: ndis.sys

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 49e02df3

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: X64_0xD1_ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0

BUCKET_ID: X64_0xD1_ndis!ndisFillMiniportIndicateLists+e0

Followup: MachineOwner
=====
PROCESS_NAME: MsMpEng.exe
IMAGE_NAME: ndis.sys - relates to a network component
=======
=======
The above is not telling us much.
Updating your drivers from the manufacturers website.
Video - Network drivers etc.

Some reasons for blue screens
New hardware - software installed.
Device driver - Video driver - corrupted - faulty.
Faulty Ram - Overheating - Dying hard drive etc.

Also run a Mem Test.
http://www.memtest.org/
Scroll down to 'Download (Pre-built & ISOs)'
'Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip)'

Download the ISO file from one of the links above to your desktop.
Then burn the ISO to a Cd.
Start the Pc using the Cd and run the memory test overnight or for at least 8 passes.

It is best to run a full scan on individual Ram sticks if you can.
Or run the test but if any errors are shown - then remove all sticks of Ram and test each Ram stick one at a time.

Guide to using Memtest86+
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic207910.html
======
======
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/product?cc=uk&lc=en&product=3774340
Edit
A better link
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...dlc=en&docname=bph07165&lc=en&product=3774340
 

joemoshi

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2000
Messages
185
Do I burn the Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip) as is or shall I extract it first?
 

joemoshi

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2000
Messages
185
All drivers were up to date already including the BIOS. I will extract the bootable iso (.zip) file now, burn into a cd and reboot.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
Let it run for a least 8 passes [see the top of MemTest under passes] - or better still overnight.
If any errors are found - test each Ram stick one at a time in different slots.
I will run the dump files again later and see if I can spot anything else worth mentioning.
 

joemoshi

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2000
Messages
185
I burnt the disc with burnaware software as data file. Of course nothing happened when rebooted. Now I am trying to burn a new CD as boot CD. However it is requesting me to specify Boot Image file in options before burning. What I tried did not work. How do I specify boot image file?
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
When you click on the unzipped MemTest ISO file - a box you appear saying how you want to open the file or point straight to the Cd burner.
Or you have to point it to the Cd burner.

The Bios may need to be set to boot [Start] from the Cd - it may already be set to do so.
If not, in the Bios you use the arrow keys to move the Cd to the top of the list.
Save and Exit the Bios - pressing F10 will usually do this.
Make no other changes while in the Bios

HP pc's it should be tapping one of the following at start up to enter the Bios.
F1, F2 (Laptop, ESC)
http://michaelstevenstech.com/bios_manufacturer.htm
 

joemoshi

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 16, 2000
Messages
185
Although I burned another CD as boot CD I was not successful in starting with the boot CD. However when tapping F2 at booting I selected Windows memory diagnostics tool. I then selected Extended test instead of Standard and selected testing 6 times. The test started well but got stuck on 21% of the 1st run (more than one hour). I tried again and the same thing happened. I will try it again as standard instead of Extended and see what happens.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,431
I then selected Extended test instead of Standard and selected testing 6 times. The test started well but got stuck on 21% of the 1st run (more than one hour). I tried again and the same thing happened
If Windows if having trouble scanning its own installed Ram!
I would leave the extended test to run overnight and see if it completes.

I rechecked the minidump files and it's still pointing to
Probably caused by : ndis.sys
And
DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: COMMON_SYSTEM_FAULT
You said in your first post - it's only happening when playing a video - is that still true?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top