1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Blue Screen

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by lbigal, Jan 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lbigal

    lbigal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    I've been getting a blue screen lately and it seems to have started when I connected my wireless router.
    Is there a way to scan the router for a virus.
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6600 @ 2.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3998 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family, 1807 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 292631 MB, Free - 231050 MB; D: Total - 12411 MB, Free - 2087 MB;
    Motherboard: Quanta, 306B
    Antivirus: McAfee Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,091
    First Name:
    Allan
    What does it say on the blue screen, in particular if there is a STOP ERROR code like 0x000... and/or the name of a file tell us what they are.

    I've never heard of a router getting a virus, it's something else.

    EDIT : please post the make and model of your computer as well.
     
  3. lbigal

    lbigal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    my computer is an hp g71-340us notebook
    the message on the blue screen reads(consolidated)
    a problem detected..windows shut down to prevent damage
    irq-not-less-or-equal
    make sure new hardware or software installed properly. if new ask manufac if any window updates
    If this continues disable BIOS memory options such as cach&shadowing. etc--
    tech info-oxoooooooa( )(xfffff800032c2405)

    The tech info is always different. I'm cking for firmware downloads for the router but won't do anything til I hear back with other solutions. thanks
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    76,977
    irq not less or equal is sort of a catch-all net. whocrashed will allow you to decipher what is in the bsod. Alternatively, you can go to c:\windows\minidump, zip the latest few minidumps (they are named by date) and attach them here.

    thanks,

    v
     
  5. lbigal

    lbigal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    oh my there are ALOT--I'll copy a few of them
    latest one:
    On Fri 1/25/2013 10:33:50 AM GMT your computer crashed
    crash dump file: C:\Windows\Minidump\012513-22230-01.dmp
    This was probably caused by the following module: ntoskrnl.exe (nt+0x7F1C0)
    Bugcheck code: 0xA (0xDC, 0x2, 0x1, 0xFFFFF800032C2405)
    Error: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    file path: C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
    product: Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
    company: Microsoft Corporation
    description: NT Kernel & System
    Bug check description: This indicates that Microsoft Windows or a kernel-mode driver accessed paged memory at DISPATCH_LEVEL or above.
    This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
    The crash took place in the Windows kernel. Possibly this problem is caused by another driver that cannot be identified at this time.
    here's one about the wireless:
    On Thu 1/24/2013 5:31:32 PM GMT your computer crashed
    crash dump file: C:\Windows\Minidump\012413-30607-01.dmp
    This was probably caused by the following module: netw5s64.sys (0xFFFFF880046B0A45)
    Bugcheck code: 0xD1 (0x0, 0x2, 0x0, 0xFFFFF880046B0A45)
    Error: DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    file path: C:\Windows\system32\drivers\netw5s64.sys
    product: Intel® Wireless WiFi Link Adapter
    company: Intel Corporation
    description: Intel® Wireless WiFi Link Driver
    Bug check description: This indicates that a kernel-mode driver attempted to access pageable memory at a process IRQL that was too high.
    This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
    A third party driver was identified as the probable root cause of this system error. It is suggested you look for an update for the following driver: netw5s64.sys (Intel® Wireless WiFi Link Driver, Intel Corporation).
    Google query: Intel Corporation DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    It looks like my drivers need to be updated and there is one on my mini firewall thru McAfee
     
  6. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,091
    First Name:
    Allan
  7. lbigal

    lbigal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    updated all my drivers--after doing that Microsoft security essentials popped up with a trojan threat--then blue screen again. message=disabable or uninstall any antivirus,disc defrag or backup utilities. ck hard drive config & ck for any updated drivers. Run CHKDSK/F to ck for hard drive corruption. I ran the chkdsdk--should
    I remove Microsoft security essentials? I'll see how long I last without another blue screen. Thank you for all your help.
     
  8. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,091
    First Name:
    Allan
    It should be ok to carry on using MSE.but try disabling the real time scanner part of it and then go back to that intel link and let it install the drivers again.
     
  9. lbigal

    lbigal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Ok ---so far so good!!!!thank you for all your help.;)
     
  10. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,091
    First Name:
    Allan
    Glad it seems fixed. :)

    (if you find it's still ok after a while please click on the 'Mark Solved' button at the top of the page).
     
  11. mohican_native

    mohican_native

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    I am getting this error code 0x0000007b (0xf78a6528,0xc0000034,0x00000000,0x00000000) I started getting this after I told computer not to start it would reboot now it reboots at any given time do i have a heating problem or a hard ware problem i added more ram but it was from dell just for this computer
     
  12. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,091
    First Name:
    Allan
    Hi mohican_native I would start a new thread for your problem, This one is marked solved and will not be looked at as much as a new one.
     
  13. mohican_native

    mohican_native

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    14
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086737

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice