1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Blue screens on XP home

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Billyspeed, Jul 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Billyspeed

    Billyspeed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Right, I am new to these forums and I hope that you can help me with a problem that I have. I am using a laptop running Windows XP Home edition, and just lately I have been getting 'Blue screens of Death' at random points, various critical errors (now no longer appearing) and my system has been running at an incredibly slow pace, it takes an hour to fully load up. This is very unusual. The blue screens display the IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL message. Looking forward to any help that you can give me as I am not sure where to start.
     
  2. Billyspeed

    Billyspeed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I have the exact ***STOP: 0x0000000A etc chain if it is required.
     
  3. The Hound

    The Hound

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,235
    Any file listed in the BSOD might help as well...
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I can run a debugging utility on the dump files if you do this:

    1 > create a new folder on the desktop and call it "dumpcheck" or whatever you like
    2 > navigate to %systemroot%\minidump and copy the last few minidump files to that folder.%systemroot% is normally c:\windows. They are numbered by date. You can paste that address in address bar to get there.
    3 > close the folder and right click on it and select Send to Compressed (zipped) Folder.
    4 > use the "manage attachments" in the "advanced" reply window to upload that zip file here as an attachment.

    This might point us to a 3rd party driver causing the error, if one exists for it.

    Since almost all bugchecks can be caused by faulty ram, I would recommend you perform memory tests.

    Beginners Guides: Diagnosing Bad Memory

    Memtest86 - A Stand-alone Memory
     
  5. Billyspeed

    Billyspeed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Here are the files as requested.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Billyspeed

    Billyspeed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I am not sure about the state of the RAM causing the problem as I am running a duel boot, which is how I am able to access these forums, of which the secondary account is running perfectly.
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I've reviewed the first 2 and the last 2.

    They are all the same as this:

    edit Premature conclusion -- it appears to be a part of McAfee but might have a conflict with Daemon Tools.

    Are you running both or either?

    http://www.google.com/search?client=opera&rls=en&q=mfehidk.sys&sourceid=opera&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8
     
  8. Billyspeed

    Billyspeed Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Thank you to Rollin' Rog for you help on this matter. After disabling McAfee I found that the system was marginally faster but not its usual capacity, I did discover however that I no longer had sporadic crashes. I then looked at the task manager and descovered that a large amount of system resources were being used by qttask.exe (Quick time task.) Using a program to stop this running at startup I have solved the problem of speed though I still believe that McAfee may have been to blame for the crashes, thanks again for your help.
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You're most welcome. If all is well and no further help needed, feel free to mark the thread title "Solved" using the Thread Tools Menu here.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/593008

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice