Solved: Boot Disk Failure

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

buf

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
1,998
Running Windows 7 Home Premium. For three days now I have seen nothing but the error Boot Disk Failure when trying to boot up.. I can overcome it by putting the IOS 7 disk in the DVD CD drive and let it boot so that I can then run the repair on the computer. I borrowed an OS 7 install disk and the same thing happens. After a series of checking the system I am informed that nothing wrong was found. If I leave the disk in the drive, even through rebooting, the machine runs just fine. If I take the disk out of the drive, I am dead in the water until I put it back in the drive, reboot and let the tests start over again and all is fine. Any help for me? As usual, TIA.

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 215 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 6 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 2942 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, 128 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 465670 MB, Free - 434472 MB; D: Total - 11165 MB, Free - 2084 MB;
Motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION, NARRA5
Antivirus: Norton Internet Security, Updated and Enabled
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
check the boot partition is marked active

from the dos option try

fixboot
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
You won't find any "fixboot" to run. In any case, the proper tool for Windows 7 would be the Bootrec Tool. It is possible, and even likely, that if you use this tool on a machine that contains a recovery partition, you will lose access to recovery. Any changes to partitions lead to this.

If you installed the OS yourself and have the installation DVD, use the bootrec tool from the recovery environment to repair bootability. If not, save your data and restore the system from the recovery partition.
 

buf

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
1,998
Thanks for your reply. I have been considering using the 3 System Recovery DVD disks I burned just after installing the win 7 OS and start out wih a fresh install. I did just that days ago and my problem still exists. I thought this included a format of the hard drive and in fact I recall seeing that taking place--ran for awhile to do it and I suspect it was a quick format. Even after this was done, I was greeted with the same problem. I would have thought after formatting the internal hard drive this problem would have gone away.
Re-thinking when this problem first began; it could have been all of this past week--I really can't remember now. Elvandil I don't know what you mean about losing(?) access to the Factory Partition if I use the Bootrec.Exe but I am not interested in losing it. Is the partition some part of the 3 DVD System Recovery disks I burned? There just doesn't seem to be a light at the end of my tunnel :( This reply is meant to shed some light on what has and is happening. Questions? I'll do my best to anwer as best that I can.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
in msconfig,under the boot tab try ticking the box op sys information and see if it boots without the disk

i ran into this problem awhile ago and i think this is what i eventually used to work around it
 

buf

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
1,998
No luck dai but thanks for your additional reply and continued offer to help. It just seems odd that I have to use any disk to keep in the DVD/CD tray in order that I may see and use my OS.
BTW, recheck your last suggestion's words; I don't see the op sys under the boot tab.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
yes referring to right column of boxes bottom box

os boot information
 

buf

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
1,998
dai, I just tried that and it still did not work for me !!!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,429
In the boot order the optical drive is first and the hard drive is second? And the hard drive is enabled as a boot device?

Please show a screen shot of the Disk Management window. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.
 

buf

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
1,998
Was just re-reading the posts and see that I failed to get the disk shot you wanted. Hopefully, here it is:
 

Attachments

buf

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
1,998
Continued thanks dai. I have tried that and so many others that I am just going to reinstall from "scratch" by just starting over--at least that is my thinking at this point. Everything is working great as long as I keep the install disk in the CD Rom tray. Good working with you again.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top