[SOLVED] boot up

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Crylynx

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
105
Just installed my components in a new case with a new power supply. Sytem boots till floppy boots then hangs and led on floppy stays on. Wont go any further cant get to bios either. Any suggestios?
Thanks

CRYLYNX
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Messages
3,362
1) if floppy light is staying on, then youve got the cable on backwards. It should flash briefly then go out if no disk in the drive. If a disk, it should flash off and on as it reads. no flashing =backwards cable or bad drive.

2) bios has nothing to do with floppy...if you are not getting to it you are either pressing the wrong key or waiting too long to press it....see your motherboard manual for that one. (or have a keyboard error)
 

Crylynx

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
105
when I put the cable on the other way I get no blinking and then the computer still hangs at the same point. so confused now
 

Crylynx

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
105
Tried the cable the other way. At start up runs till floppy light comes on then locks up. At this point it is still showng the soyo screen. Rebooted and keeped hitting delete to enter bios got a beep out of it but still wont let me in. Hangs on the soyo screen yet. any more suggestions, could any of the led leads cause the problem that are connected from the case to the motherboard?
 

Crylynx

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
105
Tried a different floppy and still locks up on floppy. Light comes on when detected then stays on and hangs. Tried entering bios and still can't enter it system hangs before its time to enter bios. Get beeps but wont disply bios screen. Is it possible to be the new power supply causing the problem? Any more suggestion very appreiciated.

Thanks Crylynx
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2003
Messages
882
check that all you're jumpers are correct, if that does'nt work try reseting cmos
 

Crylynx

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
105
Took a while but it was a bad cable to my dvd player. Did not find this till I stripped it down to the bone and set it up on the table out of the case. It was a brand new cable also, a round one for air flow, and looks.

Thanks all

**CRYLYNX**
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,432
Originally posted by Crylynx:
Took a while but it was a bad cable to my dvd player. Did not find this till I stripped it down to the bone and set it up on the table out of the case. It was a brand new cable also, a round one for air flow, and looks.
I think you're about the 3rd person that's bought round cables and had problems with them! :eek: I think I'll leave the ones I have in the closet. :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top