Solved: Booting from old disks

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sunstroke

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
19
My AMD Athlon based computer died, but my drives are ok. I would like to get an intel (E6700 core duo) based system and just stick my drives in and boot from my WIN2K installation.

Can I do this? If not, why?
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
5,625
You Win2K OS is hardware specific and will not boot on the new computer. You could install the hard drive and attempt a Repair on the OS with your Win2K CD.
 
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
3,235
You'll need motherboard-and chipset-specific drivers as well. Check the motherboard manufacturer's site for Win2k drivers.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Why do all that when the system will run so much better with a clean install?
 

sunstroke

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
19
It will take me at least a few days to format and partition new drives, install and configure my operating systems, servers, services, applications and restore my data. I also got firewall and AV from my cable ISP, to which I no longer subscribe and so will probably now re-subscribe for just a month (since it will be cheaper than buying the software) to get those again.
It would be REALly convenient to just stick my drives into a new box and be able to use them as is.

Thank you all very much for your help.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
sunstroke,
Once again I am a little lost here as most firewall software has free versions and there are at least 3 decent antivirus software programs available, which are certainly better than whatever a isp provides online. Avira, Avg and Avast are free and quite usable antivirus programs and Kerio and Zone Alarm firewall software program are free though I only use XP Firewall which is all you really need anyway.
 

sunstroke

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
19
Anti-virus software isn't an issue, but firewall software is (though not as much as it was since I now go through a router).
The free version of ZoneAlarm doesn't work for Win2k Server (to the best of my knowledge), which I need to host my SQL servers. I don't want to have to buy XP or a separate machine just to access the internet.
I'll investigate Kerio.

Thank you very much.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top