Solved: Booting in Safe Mode

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gonggirl2007

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
74
Hi,
My computer was working perfectly but a friend suggested I boot a program in safe mode only, so I tried to boot in safe mode and my computer would not do this, I searched online how to boot in safe mode and followed these instructions to boot manually in safe mode: How to get into Safe mode by the System Configuration Utility
Under XP
•1. Got to your Start menu and select Run option.
•2. Type in msconfig command and click OK. The System Configuration Utility program will then open.
•3. Select the BOOT.INI tab located at the top of the System Configuration Utility window.
•4. Check the box labeled /SAFEBOOT and click OK.
•5. When asked if you prefer to restart the PC immediately, or Exit Without Restart, choose to restart the computer manually.
•6. Your computer will automatically boot into Windows XP Safe Mode when you will restart it.
•7. When you are done with Safe Mode, go to the Start menu again and select Run option. Type in msconfig *and click OK.
•8. Select the Normal Startup radio button and click OK.
•9. When asked if you prefer to restart the PC immediately, or Exit Without Restart, choose to restart the computer manually.
•10. Your computer will boot into Normal mode the next time you switch it on.

I did this, restarted my computer only to find it started to boot windows then went to a black blank screen and nothing more happened, well my problems start here as I cannot get back into windows to change that configuration to boot normally, so I tried the xp windows disc to repair the situation and this only made things worse it wouldn't pick up an operating system at all and now trying to do this a couple of times my computer now wont even try and boot windows I get a pentium 4 symbol showing and that is it. I even have a problem my Samsung screen I was using with the computer doesn't seem to work now either, could these configuration changes have blown up my screen toooo? If anyone can help with anything it would be appreciated.
I'm using a Pentium 4, windows xp, all service packs
 

1002richards

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
5,333
Hi,
With some PCs/laptops you can access a boot menu at startup by tapping one of the F keys (eg F10). Does your machine's handbook give you that info to try?

Richard
 

gonggirl2007

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
74
Thanks for your reply, no it doesn't tell me in the handbook, will the boot menu get me back into windows so i can change that configuration, if i can get into windows to change that configuration I will solve the problem.
 

gonggirl2007

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
74
I'm using another screen now, and it keeps wanting to boot windows but cannot because the configuration I changed previously will not allow it to boot, for some reason my computer will not boot in safe mode at all and because the configuration I changed everytime Windows boots its telling it to boot in safemode but it wont, so I keep getting a black screen, how can I change this configuration back when I cannot get into Windows? Does any one know of a way please?
 

gonggirl2007

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
74
I've fixed it, phew, I'll tell everyone just in case someone has the same problem and it helps them:
I installed the original xp disc and ran the repair mode, it didn't run, it sat at the C\:windows and didn't go any further, I then typed in BOOTCFG and it bought up all different things to do, I chose BOOTCFG \REBUILD, it then looked up my operating system and asked for additional boot methods I typed in : NORMAL (this was only a guess) pressed enter and rebooted and it worked, just a fluke but I'm happy, it booted and a big configuration settings box come on the screen I then went into configurations settings and changed this setting back to boot normal. Hope this all makes sense, Hope it helps others
 

1002richards

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
5,333
Really pleased to read that you solved it and thanks for sharing the solution.

Richard
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top