1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Booting in Safe Mode

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by gonggirl2007, Apr 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gonggirl2007

    gonggirl2007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Hi,
    My computer was working perfectly but a friend suggested I boot a program in safe mode only, so I tried to boot in safe mode and my computer would not do this, I searched online how to boot in safe mode and followed these instructions to boot manually in safe mode: How to get into Safe mode by the System Configuration Utility
    Under XP
    •1. Got to your Start menu and select Run option.
    •2. Type in msconfig command and click OK. The System Configuration Utility program will then open.
    •3. Select the BOOT.INI tab located at the top of the System Configuration Utility window.
    •4. Check the box labeled /SAFEBOOT and click OK.
    •5. When asked if you prefer to restart the PC immediately, or Exit Without Restart, choose to restart the computer manually.
    •6. Your computer will automatically boot into Windows XP Safe Mode when you will restart it.
    •7. When you are done with Safe Mode, go to the Start menu again and select Run option. Type in msconfig *and click OK.
    •8. Select the Normal Startup radio button and click OK.
    •9. When asked if you prefer to restart the PC immediately, or Exit Without Restart, choose to restart the computer manually.
    •10. Your computer will boot into Normal mode the next time you switch it on.

    I did this, restarted my computer only to find it started to boot windows then went to a black blank screen and nothing more happened, well my problems start here as I cannot get back into windows to change that configuration to boot normally, so I tried the xp windows disc to repair the situation and this only made things worse it wouldn't pick up an operating system at all and now trying to do this a couple of times my computer now wont even try and boot windows I get a pentium 4 symbol showing and that is it. I even have a problem my Samsung screen I was using with the computer doesn't seem to work now either, could these configuration changes have blown up my screen toooo? If anyone can help with anything it would be appreciated.
    I'm using a Pentium 4, windows xp, all service packs
     
  2. 1002richards

    1002richards Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,333
    Hi,
    With some PCs/laptops you can access a boot menu at startup by tapping one of the F keys (eg F10). Does your machine's handbook give you that info to try?

    Richard
     
  3. gonggirl2007

    gonggirl2007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks for your reply, no it doesn't tell me in the handbook, will the boot menu get me back into windows so i can change that configuration, if i can get into windows to change that configuration I will solve the problem.
     
  4. gonggirl2007

    gonggirl2007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    I'm using another screen now, and it keeps wanting to boot windows but cannot because the configuration I changed previously will not allow it to boot, for some reason my computer will not boot in safe mode at all and because the configuration I changed everytime Windows boots its telling it to boot in safemode but it wont, so I keep getting a black screen, how can I change this configuration back when I cannot get into Windows? Does any one know of a way please?
     
  5. gonggirl2007

    gonggirl2007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    I've fixed it, phew, I'll tell everyone just in case someone has the same problem and it helps them:
    I installed the original xp disc and ran the repair mode, it didn't run, it sat at the C\:windows and didn't go any further, I then typed in BOOTCFG and it bought up all different things to do, I chose BOOTCFG \REBUILD, it then looked up my operating system and asked for additional boot methods I typed in : NORMAL (this was only a guess) pressed enter and rebooted and it worked, just a fluke but I'm happy, it booted and a big configuration settings box come on the screen I then went into configurations settings and changed this setting back to boot normal. Hope this all makes sense, Hope it helps others
     
  6. 1002richards

    1002richards Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,333
    Really pleased to read that you solved it and thanks for sharing the solution.

    Richard
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/915935

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice