1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: BOOTMGR is missing?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by asuss06, Sep 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. asuss06

    asuss06 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    255
    i used "Norton Ghost" to transfer all my data, programs and platform to a new hard drive, but when i installed the new drive into my laptop and started it up, i got "BOOTMGR is missing".

    What did i do wrong?
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    When you copied the old drive,did you make sure to
    select MBR (master boot record) as well as the drive
    in norton?
    If it is window vista or windows 7,you will also need to copy
    the small partition with the windows system files.
    If you are doing an image backup,it might be better to hook up
    both drives and do a clone instead.
    That will copy the whole drive.
    Also check the bios and make sure the new drive is the first boot device.
     
  3. asuss06

    asuss06 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    255
    ok, i think i understand and ill check everything as youve suggested. one question is that you said, "if you are doing an image backup, it might be better to hook up both drives and do a clone instead". hook up both drives? they are both hooked up together, so im sure i understand that. ill have to if norton ghost does "cloning".
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Looks like the new ghost doesn't have cloning but you should be able to
    find a free cloning utility online.
    If the drives are different size,you may need to make sure the utility you
    use can clone to different size drives.
    Cloning copies the old drive to the new one as oppesed to making an image
    and restoring it.
    Might just be that you didn't include the mbr in your image though.
    The mbr has the boot loader.
     
  5. asuss06

    asuss06 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    255
    i got fed up with trying to make norton ghost work and i also tried two other free download that also did NOT sorve my problem, so i got Acronis and....ALL HAIL ACRONIS!!!! one shot, it all worked perfectly and without any problems whatsoever.
    man, forget Norton, forget everything else - Acronis wins by a landslide in my book.
    Thanks leroys1000 for all your help!!!!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1069545