1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Bootmgr is missing

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Jahb, Jan 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jahb

    Jahb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    I have a Dell Inspiron 1525 running (supposed to be) Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit. I've read many posts in various forums on how to fix the "bootmgr is missing" problem but nothing works. Specificall the error is "Bootmgr is missing" then "Press any key to restart". Pressing any key just gives the same error repeatedly.
    I have tried re-installing Vista but I when I get to the screen to install unto the large partition (the HD is partitioned into 3 dirves) I get this error: "Windows is unable to find a system volume that meets its criteria for installation". And it won't install on the other 2 drives because 1 is too small and the other is not formatted as NTFS.
    I've tried using the system repair utility which is the most common solution I've seen but no operating system is found by the system recovery tool. Any suggestions anyone?
     
  2. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
  3. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,417
  4. Jahb

    Jahb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    How do I get to the recovery partition? And no. I can't be installing from inside windows because windows won't start. I'm using the Dell re-install CD. Here's my sequence of steps: Press start button, press F12 to get boot options, select boot from CD/DVD, Press enter, Wait for "press any key to boot from CD" then press enter, Wait while "Windows is loading files...", Press Next at Language/Time/Keyboard..., Now at screen to "Install Now" or select "Repair Your Computer". I click "install now" and get to License Screen where I accept the license terms and press Next, now at "Which type of Installation do you want?" screen where I can only select Custom to install a clean copy of windows, next screen is "Where do you want to install Windows?" and gives 3 options: Disk 0 Unallocated Space 47.0 MB, Disk 0 Partition 1 146.0 GB Primary and Disk 0 Partition 2 3.0 GB Logical. I select Partition 1 and Press next then I get statement at the bottom of the box says "Windows unable to find a system volume that meets its criteria for installation". Is this incorrect installation procedure?
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,417
    Recovery Console:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307654
     
  6. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,417
    Yes that's the right procedure...sounds like you would need a driver for sata drive, yet it saw it because it listed the partitions. Drive must be totally shot.
     
  7. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
    as you boot your comp press f8 keep tapping this is usally the key but check your paperwork to be sure
     
  8. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
    iam begining to lean that way to drive shot one last thought try a linux cd run live cd first and see if you can access the drive or even try installing to partition 1 and if it will install if it does then re-try vista
     
  9. Jahb

    Jahb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Tapping F8 doesn't work. I keep getting Boomgr is missing blah blah blah. Tried 3 times and tapped about 30 times.
     
  10. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
    this is an option
     
  11. Jahb

    Jahb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Don't have Linux CD. Can I download one somewhere?
     
  12. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
  13. Jahb

    Jahb Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Problem solved. Replaced the hard drive and Vista installed on the first try. I tried to get that Linux disc but that was like chasing a ghost for an hour. I downloaded and tried a Windows Recovery disc from Spotmau which worked well but got stuck when couldn't find any backup files. I just wanted to thank you guys for all your help.
     
  14. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,852
    hi glad you found the answer as to linux try ubuntu,xubuntu, just google alwawys handy to have
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/791808