Solved: Bridge gender cable

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Boothbay

Thread Starter
Account Closed
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
835
Never heard of this until I bought my smartTV . Apparently the usual component cables does not work with this set. I do not see the 3 cable inputs...just 2..a green and yellow. I called LG support and they told me that i need a 'bridge gender cable". Why would the TV makers do that? It would mean any peripheral product..ie...cable box, dvr ( as far as I know ) blu ray player would need the same type of inputs. Could someone tell me how to connect my 'old' component cable to such inputs? Would one cable just be hanging?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
You need all three component cables to get proper picture and color. And the yellow is for audio.

Did the TV not come with the 'bridge' cable?

What is the exact model of the LG TV you bought?

Your Bluray player should have an HDMI port, that's the connection I'd be using and it will carry both the video and audio. You need to use HDMI to get full 1080p from the Blu ray player, you are limiting your picture by using component cables, don;t think 3D is possible unless you use HDMI.

As to why, they are probably trying to reduce the size of the TV. Secondly, they are probably trying to phase out the older connectors in favor of HDMI.

This is suggests the cable is included: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfCXvcf63dg
 

Boothbay

Thread Starter
Account Closed
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
835
Did the TV not come with the 'bridge' cable? Yes, 2 pair with different colors and i do not know why the different colors. one has the red, white, yellow and the other pair has Green, blue, red...???
The manual does show a description, but it points to one that says this is not included.
The model is 49UB8500...The 3D is nice, but of minor interest so far. Now, my CISCO cable box has the ordinary component outputs, so from what i gather is this, and please correct me if i am wrong...hook up the usual way from the cable box and when it comes to the TV, I insert this adapter and connect the comp. cable to that. ..but again i am confused about the different colors. Thanks for the link.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,688
Could someone tell me how to connect my 'old' component cable to such inputs?
Is your old component cable connecting Y, Pr, and Pb signals from your video source? If not, what kind of component signals are your referring to?

Now, my CISCO cable box has the ordinary component outputs,
Are you referring to Y, Pr, and Pb component video signals from the Cisco cable box? If not, what kind of component signals are your referring to?
 

Boothbay

Thread Starter
Account Closed
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
835
Is your old component cable connecting Y, Pr, and Pb signals from your video source? If not, what kind of component signals are your referring to?


Are you referring to Y, Pr, and Pb component video signals from the Cisco cable box? If not, what kind of component signals are your referring to?

Yes, is there any other kind?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Standard component cables are in fact blue, green, red, so that's the one to use for video. You'll need to get audio as well to the TV, so then you use the red and white which are standard for left and right audio. Yellow is standard for composite video, you wouldn't use that unless you have another device that old has that type of output.

Here's a copy of the online manual: http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-49UB8500#
Page 26 details using the adapters.

Or just use HDMI to get the best picture and image quality and get the most out of your new TV.
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,688
Yes, is there any other kind?
There was an analog RGB with sync on Green standard that was kicked around a long time ago.

The adapter cable with the green plug for the TV should work with the Y, Pr, Pb outputs on your Cisco cable box, You will need a common, three signal, component video patch cable to go from the cable box to the adapter cable.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top