1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Brother screwed around with Belkin Router Setup Settings

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MichaelThompson, Dec 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MichaelThompson

MichaelThompson Thread Starter

Sorry but I'm a total noob when it comes to this, so here it goes...

I'm using Windows XP. I am typing this through someone's connection, due to the fact that I'm having problems connecting to my Belkin Wireless G Router. I did have access to the main modem page, of 192.168.40.1. I previously had it had the default of 192.168.2.1, but my brother changed it to 40. Nonetheless, 192.168.40.1 used to work, but now it does not.

My brother wanted to connect to a Counter-Strike Source server so he thought by messing around with this main page of the router and by forwarding some ports that he could fix it himself. Not realizing he's a moron, he was able to connect to the Counter-Strike Source server, for about 30 minutes, but suddenly he lost connection to the internet.

It all happened when he turned DHCP server off, changed the lease time from Forever to Half Hour.

http://www.voipmechanic.com/configuringabelkinrouter_files/image006.jpg

After 30 minutes he said the internet connection just went down.

Basically, the IP is somehow lost and I cannot access the internet...and I can't access the Belkin Cable/DSL Gateway Router Setup Utility Page via 192.168.40.2 (which I normally use to go to it)

IPconfig/all:

IP Routing Enabled: No
    WINS Proxy Enabled No
    DHCP Enabled:Yes
    Autoconfiguration IP Address: 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.68.0.1

When pinging both 192.168.0.2, and 192.168.0.1 it says Destination host unreachable.

Packets sent=4, Received=0 Lost=4 (100% Loss)