1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) browser check register change

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by sudsy, Sep 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sudsy

    sudsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Greetings,
    running xp pro, ie6 sp1. I did a browser security check and was instructed to remove a register key (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\classes\MIME\Database\Content Type\application/hta)

    It is not in my registry.

    Is this what cause the red "x" instead of pictures in ie?

    If so can I replace this key?

    Sudsy
     
  2. RSM123

    RSM123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,531
  3. sudsy

    sudsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    thanks, been there before. I have Nortons 2003. I was hoping to work around having to create a rule for every web site. May have to go back to McAfee...any other ideas?
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    It has nothing to do with your image problem.

    Here's my entire spiel on that:

    First, go to Internet Options > General tab, Teporary Internet Files, and hit "delete files". Also press "delete history".

    Now there are a number of things you should check:

    1) On the View menu in IE, point to Encoding , and then click Western European (Windows).

    2) Verify that Show Pictures has not been disabled:

    - On the Tools menu, click Internet Options .
    - Click the Advanced tab, and then verify that the Show Pictures check box is selected under Multimedia .
    - Click OK .

    3) Restore Default Associations for Graphics File Types :

    Go to Folder Options/File Types, and make sure that the following file types are associated by default with Microsoft Internet Explorer (Iexplore.exe):
    ART image (.art)
    GIF image (.gfa, .gif)
    JPEG image (.jfif, .jpe, .jpeg, .jpg)

    4) If you have Norton Firewall or NIS installed, uninstall and reinstall the program.

    It might also be a good idea to install the latest version of Microsoft Virtual Machine

    And here's a MS article:

    Web Page Displays an Image As a Red X or Not at All (Q283807)

    Finally, here's MS-MVP Mike Burgess' list of things known to cause problems:

    1) Zone Alarm Pro [Private Header Info - enabled?]
    Reset "Ad Blocking" and "Cookie Control" to "medium"
    "Mobile Code Control" = Off

    2) Symantec (ISS\NIS)[Enable Browser Privacy - enabled]
    Active Content - "Allow All Script To Execute"

    3) Any "ad blocking" software that blocks "http_referer"
    or contains entries that are blocking access to the desired site.

    4) HOSTS file that contains entries that are blocking access to the desired
    site.

    5) Cookie blocking software that are blocking "required" Cookies.

    6) Pop-up blockers that are stripping header\url info.

    7) WebWasher Standard Filter/URL Filter



    As for the file associations for HTA, don't remove the key.
    Download NSClean' HTAStop, and toggle "HTA" off. Much better!:

    Description: http://www.nsclean.com/htastop.html
    Direct download: ftp://ftp.nsclean.com/pub/htastop.exe
     
  5. sudsy

    sudsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks tony...problem solved. had to disable the browser privacy in Nortons 2003.
    Sudsy

    Ps. I may have not been too clear in my first post. That registry key is missing from my registry.
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    IMHO you should restore it, as you may on occasion want/need to run a hta file.

    What operating system is this?
     
  7. sudsy

    sudsy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    xp pro. I've put the hta string in my registry, and downloaded HTAstop. Windows 2000 is listed so I assume it will work with xp?
    Thanks again.
    Sudsy
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Yup, it works with XP.

    When you toggle HTA off, HTAStop renames the Mshta.exe file, so that Htafiles can't run.

    Brilliant in its simplicity! :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166526

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice