Solved: Browser Crash on webcam "Allow flash player settings"

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nillzhillz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
4
Ok so my webcam works fine for local applications such as skype. But say I wanted to use something like stickcam or chatroulette or play a web cam game online. So i go to these sites and you get that little flash popup that says "allow flash settings" and you can allow or deny. whenever i click allow It immediately crashes the browser im using. Ive tried chrome, IE, and firefox all crash. IE and Chrome say theres a problem with the plugin shockwave flash. I have installed and re-installed Shockwave flash, Flash player numerous times. Both are the most current versions. I have Installed and reinstalled webcam software and drivers for my built in HP webcam. Im so incrediblely frustrated it is insane! I think that ive had this problem from day one if that means anything. Ive also installed directX too. :mad:
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2010
Messages
1
I have the same problem...Have no idea what to do...I've tried almost everything...I think it happens since I've tried to instal USB TV tuner, but maybe it's not the reason..
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,945
I don't have a webcam and so have no personal knowledge about their use.

However, there are a couple of things you could check out. The first is the online Flash Settings Manager which you can access here; http://www.macromedia.com/support/documentation/en/flashplayer/help/settings_manager06.html read the instructions carefully before you make any changes (unless you want the World to have free access to your webcam and microphone!).

Secondly, if you have uninstalled the Flash plugins from your browsers (as opposed to Shockwave Flash which is different software) if you didn't use the uninstaller from the Adobe website, your current installation could be corrupted. Have a look here;http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/191/tn_19166.html (I assume that you are aware that there are different versions of the plugin for IE and the other, non Active X, browsers?)
 

nillzhillz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
4
hmm this is a new Idea. Ill try it out. As far as I can tell there ARE different versions of plugins for different browsers. Right now im doing a "proper" uninstall. although seeing as how i cannot get this to work on any browser is it possible it might be a hardware issue?
 

nillzhillz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
4
Because...I can see flash content, play flash games etc etc? just not "allow" flash settings to acess my mic and camera
 

nillzhillz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
4
Sorry to post a bunch of things here but problem solved! thank you much! I right clicked settings on the flash box, and the looked under the webcam icon. There my video input was set to Analog capture, instead of my webcam! aghhhh haha. thanks for the help
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,945
Well, however accidentally, it's good to know I may have helped!

There should be a 'Solved' box in your first post for you to mark this as closed.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top