1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: BSOD...0x000000F4...Please Help

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by cheapshot, Aug 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cheapshot

    cheapshot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    284
    First off here are my specs;

    HP Pavilion zv5000 laptop.
    XP SP2
    60gb HD
    384 MB Ram (128 is video).

    Laptop will not boot properly, not even to safe mode. I am getting the following error each time and always at the same spot *** STOP: 0x000000F4 (0x00000003, 0x829185A8, 0x8291871C, 0x805F9F88). Again this happens right before the login prompt comes up. Stop error is always the same except memory addresses 2 and 3 in the brackets change.

    I must mention before this the pc was not booting at all. It would display the HP logo and look like it was going to boot but never did. I went into recovery console and ran "chkdsk /r" and this enabled me to get to where I am now.

    I have ran memtest+ for a few hours and no errors. Also ran HD dignostics using Salvation HDD repair CD. No errors found on HD. The fact that this occurs each time in the exact same place , even in safe mode, tells me it maybe file corruption. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    There is not much available on this particular STOP error except to suggest it is related to the IDE configuration -- that is the cabling or the controller on the ide channel to which the drive is connected.

    Try removing the drive from the laptop and reseating it.

    There is a pictorial on removal or replacement of the drive at the bottom of this PDF:


    http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c00090106.pdf
     
  3. cheapshot

    cheapshot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    284
    Thanks Rog. I will try that and let you know. I was starting to do an inplace upgrade but will try this first.
     
  4. cheapshot

    cheapshot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    284
    No good...tried to reset HD and got same error msg. I want to do an in place upgrade or a repair install. The problem is when I boot from the CD and run setup, there is no repair option! Does anyone know how I can get this option? It has Home edition and I want to put XP Pro on it one time.
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    It's a little confusing -- but read this and it should explain it:

    http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm

    If Windows does not see a previous installation -- you will not be given the opportunity to "repair" (reinstall) it. Keep in mind this is different than loading the recovery console.

    If you can access the recovery console you should try such commands as

    chkdsk /r

    and

    fixboot


    If you choose to enter setup and do a reinstall -- but do not see that option -- Windows is going to format the drive and whatever is there would be lost.

    You may still be able to recovery data on this drive -- but it involves getting an adapter such as >

    http://www.rogerssystems.com/store/moreinfo.cfm?Product_ID=1399&CFID=402&CFTOKEN=55962118
     
  6. cheapshot

    cheapshot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    284
    Thanks for your help sir. I think I have fixed it. I followed instructions on this website:
    http://webcast.broadcastnewsroom.com/articles/viewarticle.jsp?id=8658-0

    Mr. White is a funny guy! Looks like my registry was the culprit. After I ran chkdsk /r it fixed the file corruption but the registry also took a hit. I followed his instructions to the T and it worked. No BSOD so far!!;)
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Great -- I'm familiar with hive restore, but don't usually recommend it unless one boots to the error that one of them is missing.

    Did you see that after chkdsk ?
     
  8. cheapshot

    cheapshot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    284
    No did not see it. I took a chance doing it I know! It just seemed that if it was hardware related this error would have come up randomly not religiously in the same place each time. Like I mentioned before, chkdsk got me booting again but only to the error point.
     
  9. techisme

    techisme

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1
  10. omegastar013

    omegastar013

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    also you might have a nasty program called securom on your pc it caused my pc to crash all the time untill i reinstalled windows
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/497012