Solved: BSOD afd.sys

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
7,889
Dump analysis was inconclusive.

Open a command prompt, right click on the command prompt icon and select run as administrator, then type this command to repair lsp/winsock

netsh winsock reset

Press enter

Reboot/restart your computer.



I would also update your network drivers, these use adf.sys.

If you have a 3rd party firewall installed, I would uninstall it, see if things improve

It could also be malware causing this.

.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
697
!analyze -v
*******************************************************************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
*******************************************************************************

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
Invalid system memory was referenced. This cannot be protected by try-except,
it must be protected by a Probe. Typically the address is just plain bad or it
is pointing at freed memory.
Arguments:
Arg1: 80b2a228, memory referenced.
Arg2: 00000000, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation.
Arg3: 8e905543, If non-zero, the instruction address which referenced the bad memory
address.
Arg4: 00000000, (reserved)

Debugging Details:
------------------


Could not read faulting driver name

READ_ADDRESS: GetPointerFromAddress: unable to read from 83186868
Unable to read MiSystemVaType memory at 83166420
80b2a228

FAULTING_IP:
+608d952f03b9deb0
8e905543 ?? ???

MM_INTERNAL_CODE: 0

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR: 0x50

PROCESS_NAME: PnkBstrA.exe

CURRENT_IRQL: 0

TRAP_FRAME: 82b14a90 -- (.trap 0xffffffff82b14a90)
ErrCode = 00000000
eax=00000000 ebx=00000000 ecx=0001201b edx=00000004 esi=80b2a220 edi=88b2a368
eip=8e905543 esp=82b14b04 ebp=82b14c58 iopl=0 nv up ei pl zr na pe nc
cs=0008 ss=0010 ds=0023 es=0023 fs=0030 gs=0000 efl=00010246
8e905543 ?? ???
Resetting default scope

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from 8309cdd4 to 830e738d

STACK_TEXT:
82b14a78 8309cdd4 00000000 80b2a228 00000000 nt!MmAccessFault+0x10a
82b14a78 8e905543 00000000 80b2a228 00000000 nt!KiTrap0E+0xdc
WARNING: Frame IP not in any known module. Following frames may be wrong.
82b14b00 0c217c12 88b2a368 00000000 00000000 0x8e905543
82b14c58 83295b0a 88b2a301 00000001 00f3fcac 0xc217c12
82b14d00 83296fd0 87ecb350 00000100 00000000 nt!IopXxxControlFile+0x2cf
82b14d34 83099c7a 00000104 00000100 00000000 nt!NtDeviceIoControlFile+0x2a
82b14d34 77895e74 00000104 00000100 00000000 nt!KiFastCallEntry+0x12a
00f3fd08 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 0x77895e74


STACK_COMMAND: kb

FOLLOWUP_IP:
nt!KiTrap0E+dc
8309cdd4 85c0 test eax,eax

SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX: 1

SYMBOL_NAME: nt!KiTrap0E+dc

FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: nt

IMAGE_NAME: ntkrpamp.exe

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP: 4b7d1e08

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID: 0x50_nt!KiTrap0E+dc

BUCKET_ID: 0x50_nt!KiTrap0E+dc

Followup: MachineOwner
---------
The crash appears to be caused by PnkBstrA.exe driver (related to PunkBuster) which is an anti-cheat system. The driver attempted to read the address 83186868 which is allocated to module ntkrpamp.exe.

http://www.evenbalance.com/index.php?page=pbsvcfaq.php

This driver is required in order to play some online games...

Starting with PB Client version 1.700, the new components are required. Uninstalling and/or disabling the new components will cause PunkBuster to stop working correctly and will cause frequent kicking from PunkBuster enabled servers.
You can try updating/repairing the PunkBuster driver software by following the install instructions found here.
 

Afrika

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
61
lol punkbuster. I was scared for a second. Yeh I play cod4 with punkbuster, I will check into it. So far it hasnt crashed since I started the topic
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
The afd.sys (usually networking related) error is not the same as the minidump you posted.

But I would watch out for a conflict between Daemon Tools and any anti-cheat or DRM protective drivers running, such as >> sfdrv01a.sys
sfdrv01a.sys is a FrontLine Environment Driver.
Manufacturer: Protection Technology
www.star-force.com

I believe this is a Punkbuster driver.
 

Afrika

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
61
well i reinstalled Punkbuster, I dont use Daemon Tools no more anyways, I use Alcohol only now. But I think Im good for now. I will give it a week, if the problem still consists I will get back at yalls. Thanks for the quick help btw
I rate this forum 10/10, you guys all ways hit the nail on the right spot
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
697
kd> cxr
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for sptd.sys
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for sptd.sys
SPTD driver was loaded at time of the crash. This driver is used by disc emulation software.

But I would watch out for a conflict between Daemon Tools and any anti-cheat or DRM protective drivers running
You can also download and update the latest SPTD (SCSI Pass Through Direct) driver found here that is used by Alcohol 120% and daemon tools.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Messages
697
But I would watch out for a conflict between Daemon Tools and any anti-cheat or DRM protective drivers running, such as >> sfdrv01a.sys
You can download and install the related "Star Force" driver which is a disc drm validation protection (to prevent piracy).

To install:

How to update protection drivers?

If you have problems in launching a protected application, driver update can solve the problem in some cases, as well as it can improve interaction between the protected application and drivers in programs from other vendors.

The following should be done to update drivers:

  • Download the zip-archive of the SFUPDATE utility.
  • Unpack the archive and save the sfdrvup.exe file to some folder on a hard disk.
  • Run sfdrvup.exe.
  • Follow the displayed instructions.
Source: http://www.star-force.com/support/drivers/
 

Afrika

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
61
Its been a while now, Im getting back at yall just to say its all good. Thanks, it was probably some temporary thing or sumthin. Nuthin bad.
Is it alright to say its been solved?
 

Afrika

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
61
I updated PB, I doubt it was to do with it. It stopped stuffing up like the day after I posted. Im glad I came here just incase
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top