1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: BSOD or freeze up shortly after computer starts

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by GabachoGris, Feb 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GabachoGris

    GabachoGris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    I inherited this Toshiba laptop from a friend. It occasionally froze up when I ran explorer.exe or Windows Media Player. It always has run slow. I started to remove software I was not using and installed MS updates. I have checked it out with Avast and Spybot, and ran registry software. I tried to defrag but the computer said it did not need it.

    Now it has started to give me the BSOD or just freeze up every time I start it, shortly after I start it. It does better in Safe Mode, but it still eventually freezes.

    This is beyond my abilities at this point and I am not sure if it can be fixed short of reinstalling a new OS which will be difficult since I don't have the discs and am not currently in the US.

    MORE DETAILS:

    Sysinfo:
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Basic, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 900 @ 2.20GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 1915 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family, 830 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 143736 MB, Free - 35653 MB;
    Motherboard: TOSHIBA, Portable PC
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated and Enabled

    Temp file generated after crash
    C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Temp\WER65F3.tmp.version.txt
    Windows NT Version 6.0 Build: 6002 Service Pack 2
    Product (0x2): Windows Vista (TM) Home Basic
    Edition: HomeBasic
    BuildString: 6002.18881.x86fre.vistasp2_gdr.130707-1535
    Flavor: Multiprocessor Free
    Architecture: X86
    LCID: 1033
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,785
    Hi, how old is this Toshiba laptop - make and model number?
    Stay away from "registry software" [cleaners] they can add to the problem, not solve it.
    Some reasons for Blue Screens
    New hardware - software installed.
    Device driver - Video driver - corrupted - faulty.
    Faulty Ram - Overheating - Dying hard drive etc.

    Run a Mem Test.
    http://www.memtest.org/
    Scroll down to 'Download (Pre-built & ISOs)'
    'Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip)'

    Download the ISO file -then burn the ISO to a Cd.
    Start the Pc using the Cd and run the memory test overnight or for at least 8 passes.

    It is best to run a full scan on individual Ram sticks if you can.
    Or run the test but if any errors are shown - then remove all sticks of Ram and test each Ram stick one at a time.

    Guide to using Memtest86+
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic207910.html
    ======
    If you can check Device Manager.
    Click Start button >run > type
    devmgmt.msc
    .
    A driver may need updating - always go to the manufacturers website for any needed drivers.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,689
    First Name:
    Frank
    You appear to have a Toshiba Satellite L305-S5955 (PSLB8U-13T038) laptop that originally came with Windows Vista Home Basic SP1 32-bit.

    If you lived in the U.S.A., you could purchase the recovery media disc kit for it from here.

    Unfortunately, you live in Mexico.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. GabachoGris

    GabachoGris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Yes, it is a Toshiba laptop L305-S5955. http://www.cnet.com/products/toshiba-satellite-l305-s5955/specs/

    Purchased approx in 2008 or 2009 and running Vista Basic.

    I am working on getting the memory test going. Thanks, and I'll get back to you asap.

    I probably should mention, the battery for the laptop is quite dead and if I unplug the computer for even a few minutes the computer shuts down. I wonder if that could be an issue.
     
  5. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,785
    You may have an even greater problem.

    Let us know if you can get it to stay on and run the MemTest.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,689
    First Name:
    Frank
  7. GabachoGris

    GabachoGris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    It turns out I can boot from the usb. Can the mem test be run from a usb? If so, would it be the same or different file? I tried to burn it to a cd but while it starts and seems to work, it has problems when it tries to verify that it burned correctly. Please advise.
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,785
    Mem test from a USB stick.
    http://www.memtest.org/#downiso
    Scroll down to [Download (Pre-built & ISOs]
    Download -Auto-installer for USB Key (Win 9x/2k/xp/7) *NEW!*

    Download to the desktop on a working pc - unzip it there.
    To check the correct USB drive letter - right click My Computer > click on Open.
    Your USB stick will be listed with the drive letter.

    Click on the Install icon on your desktop - it will then have a box appear asking you to name the USB drive letter.
    Put the drive letter in the box and click on install.
     
  9. GabachoGris

    GabachoGris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    I ran the mem test from the USB port. It didn't show any errors. When the test starts it gives the option of Fail Safe (F1) or Multi Thread (F2). So, I ran them both for 14 passes each, not being sure of the difference. I also played around with the settings. I never was able to figure out the SP and CR (which button to hit?), but I played with the test settings. If I put in test number 11 it did crank out errors but that test did not seem to be a part of the regular test it was runs. It said that I have two banks of memory 1024 MB each. The test I ran did them concurrently.
     
  10. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,785
  11. GabachoGris

    GabachoGris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the help, especially to BluesHarp. I found a guy who is here visiting who helped me rebuild the computer. Now it seems to be working fine. No more BSOD and it is much faster.
     
  12. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,785
    (y) thanks for the update.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1143122

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice