1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: BSOD Stop error 0x00000024

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by abadfish, Jun 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. abadfish

    abadfish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Hi guys, My problem is the error 0x00000024, I cannot do anything, Cant get into safe mode, using the repairs fail, If I go into backup my files before using the restore system to factory state, it goes to 5% and fails. I have not tried to do the system restore to factory as There are many pics I added recently without backing up yet. I don't have the recovery disks. I'm sure you will have many more questions I will be glad to answer, but here is a starting point.....Thanks in advance

    Adam

    I got ahold of a vista boot disk, all that happens with that is a black screen with a message at top left that says Starting caldera ms-dos, then the pc reboots, and continues to do the same thing over and over.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You may have a bad disk drive. Can you boot to the command option and run chkdsk /r ?

    http://aumha.org/a/stop.php#0x24


    If you don't have the option of booting in Safe Mode, Last Known Good configuration -- have no drive backup to restore from and no "recovery environment" to try a "repair" from -- about all I think you can do is try to recover your media files and personal data to a USB drive.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Recovery_Environment

    If you create a Puppy Linux disk and boot with it -- you should be able to do this.

    I don't know what kind of Vista boot disk you tried, the message has nothing to do with Vista's boot loaders.

    http://www.puppylinux.com/

    http://rhinoweb.us/
     
  4. abadfish

    abadfish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    I run chkdsk /r and it says....
    the type of the file system is NTFS
    Cannot lock current drive
    Windows cannot run disk checking on this volume because it is write protected
     
  5. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    What procedure did you use to run chkdsk ?

    Did you specifically run the command chkdsk c: /r

    Where I assume 'c' is the letter assigned to this drive? If it is not 'c' -- you must substitute the correct letter.

    You must know what the drive letter is that is assigned to the problem drive -- especially if you are booting from something else to run chkdsk on it. It can and will change.
     
  6. abadfish

    abadfish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    What should I be looking for, it is verifying on stage 4 of 5
    Also, I burned a copy of puppy, when I try to start the pc with it in, the pc keeps reebooting
    ok, chkdsk c: /r finished
    chkdsk c: d this is the drive that has my os on it, I get a message that the disk does not have enough room on it to replace bad clusters detected in file 83843 of name.

    1 more thing, is it possible if I cannot get this to boot or backup my files to dump files to another vista machine, would the other pc be able to see my files?
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    If Puppy Linux will not boot, and restarts, you have a hardware problem. Can you test it on another computer just to ensure it was created correctly?

    The next step really should be to test the ram. Note the issue of "non-paged" pool memory discussed in this article (that's ram):

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-gb/library/ms793935.aspx

    You still haven't told me what procedure you used to run chkdsk -- are you able to use the "recovery/repair" environment which has the command option -- or are you using some other kind of boot disk?

    Not clear what you are saying here:
    Is 'c' your boot drive or 'd'?

    You may want to consider removing that drive and connecting it to another system either as a slave or using an IDE to USB interface adapter. This will allow you to recover files and perhaps do other repairs as well.

    http://www.amazon.com/USB-2-0-IDE-C...?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1214366939&sr=8-10

    But test the ram:

    Beginners Guides: Diagnosing Bad Memory


    Memtest86 - A Stand-alone Memory Diagnostic
     
  8. abadfish

    abadfish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Update, Thank you for letting me know about the cable to get files off the non working pc, I used a hdd docking station to transfer my files to an external hdd. The problem was a bad ram. I removed one and tried to recover, got a memory error, took it out and put the other one in, and it works. Thanks alot for you guidance.
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Great to hear -- you're most welcome for the help :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/724090