1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Buying new computer HELP!!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Shadow Kolezar, Apr 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Shadow Kolezar

    Shadow Kolezar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    kk Well, I just moved and was looking for a new computer. I really liked this one I saw at BestBuy.. It was a AMD Phenom 8400 Processor with 3GB RAM and 6150SE graphics card(crappy but replaceable). Only problem.. It runs Vista.. I've tried finding a way to build the same computer with XP Pro but haven't found a way.. BestBuy said I could buy the tower and then XP seperate then switch operating systems but. I want your guys' opinions please. If you have a site where I could build this or know a way please respond.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Shadow Kolezar

    Shadow Kolezar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    If anything a site for building a tower would be nice :) Otherwise please respond soon.. Gotta get this comp before weekend.. also does Vista rune Microsoft .NET? I program with Visual Basics, Java, etc so..

    Anyways I'll be patient now
     
  3. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,271
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Any links to the Best Buy site to get any more information on what you are planning to get?

    Can you tell us how you plan to use the computer?

    If this is a fairly new model, you may want to make sure that you can get XP compatible drivers for all the hardware in it.
     
  4. Shadow Kolezar

    Shadow Kolezar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8775756&type=product&id=1204331848044

    That's tower

    Yeah I Play Counter Strike:Source (I maintain a clan and server)
    I play Diablo2 LOD also... I run mIRC and I run microsoft .NET or whatever it is. It has Java, Visual Basics, C++ etc.. that's all I really need it for... I'd like to buy some newer comp games and my parents use it for e-mail.. nothing complicated.
     
  5. matthew0155

    matthew0155

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    first off 3gb of ram is just stupid. Second, why dont you go to your local computer store and put one together the people at the store will defenatly know how to build one, and all the parts you need. It will be easy if you just buy all the parts off the shelf, if you dont want anything fancy (which if your buying a computer from best buy you dont) you wont have to order any parts which could take a while. You will probably save money and get something better. Then you can put any os you want in it.
     
  6. matthew0155

    matthew0155

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    i also play css: doesnt require too good of a computer, what clan is yours?
     
  7. Shadow Kolezar

    Shadow Kolezar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    So what kind of store could I go to for that... I don't think BestBuy lets you.. I live by Circuit City and a few othe places

    my clan is DHF (Drunk Hacking Fools) just got server a month ago... no we don't hack just are often accused. What's wrong with 3GB RAM besides the fact it is kinda random lol.
     
  8. JSanguancheu

    JSanguancheu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,824
    I believe he meant a small privately owned PC store in your area.
    Not a big chain store like Bestbuy or CCity.

    Would having Vista be that much of a problem with the stuff you're doing?
     
  9. Shadow Kolezar

    Shadow Kolezar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    well I still didn't get a very definitive answer so can anyone else help.. if you need a link or anything just PM me
     
  10. Gulo Luseus

    Gulo Luseus

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,464
    Not too sure what the problem is with Vista. Tried it and dont like it, or just heard bad things? And no, nothing wrong with 3Gb mem at all. :)
     
  11. Shadow Kolezar

    Shadow Kolezar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Yeah I knew he meant a small computer store but I don't know of one around here :(

    And it would be a big deal to me because I play Cs:s and Diablo a lot... for Diablo I am an Admin in a mIRC community and for Cs:s I have/run a clan and server.. couldn't do that if I couldn't play them lol. If I didn't need to run these things I could maybe learn to live without them but.. I'd rather just build this setup with XP Pro, throw in a graphics card, and get back to writing scripts lol.

    P.S if this is double post im sorry this laptop is like 7 years old so idk what happened
     
  12. Shadow Kolezar

    Shadow Kolezar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    hmmm how much harm would it do just to buy it and switch the os to XP Pro? would it impact the computer performance severely?
     
  13. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    There's no harm, but it simply might not work. You have to find Windows XP drivers for all the hardware components. If Gateway doesn't have them on its website, you have to hunt third-party sites for each individual component, and those aren't guaranteed to work.
     
  14. Shadow Kolezar

    Shadow Kolezar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    :( lol why is this so difficult... does anyone know a system similar to this that comes with xp pro and is under $600? if so speak up lol

    Well I've been Googleing and all I can find is that it always comes with Vista... Wish they would make it more compatible
     
  15. Shadow Kolezar

    Shadow Kolezar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    well goodnight all and thanks for the help

    leave me suggestions if you want
    thanks in advance
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Buying computer
  1. winpc
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,092
  2. Nutech12
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    341
  3. freedave
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    108
  4. Anmol45
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    130
  5. Glacier136
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    251
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/702464

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice