1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: can a wired router be violated?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by nichos, Nov 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    I have a Netgear "54mbps Wireless Modem Router ADSLDG83MG".

    I have paid for an AOL WIRED BBand connection, & my PC is wired to it.

    I have not activated the "wireless network setup wizard" in the winXP control panel.

    With the router powered and the PC OFF, sometimes the "i" lite & the one below it keep flashing rigorously for a long time.

    Could this mean that somebody outside the house is connecting to it wirelessly?

    Thanx .......nick
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,676
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if you have it enabld in the router and no secruity - can you log into the router and disable the wireless section
     
  3. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    I do not know how, but as I paid only for "wired" probably the ISP AOL has disabled the wireless bit. .....nick
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,676
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Not necessarly - i dont know what AOL does to check wireless as the router has the facility and as far as I know - {JohnWill or TerryNet} will correct me if wrong

    the presentation to the ISP will just be a machine from your router ....

    I cant find that model number on google - is it correct
    which country are you in ?
    do you have a link to the AOL site
    i have looked here http://broadband.aol.com/broadband/faqs.adp#4

    Is this a limitation to you only using cable on the router - or is the method the AOL service is provided - ie cable rather than via a telelephone
    Although that number ADSL implies a Telephone connection.

    I have moved to networking
     
  5. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    Thanx etaf,

    there is another No."DG834G v3".

    In UK

    www.aol.co.uk

    Telephone connection method the AOL service is provided.

    BTW, the lights that were flashing were the "internet" & the "wireless", which perhaps means works wirelesly too.

    Is there anything I can do to stop others using my router? .....nick
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,676
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Is this the package
    http://www.aolbroadband.co.uk/pages/productPages/acquisition/wirelessFlexi.jsp
    Did Aol supply the router

    dont see why you cannot use wireless seems to be included in all packages - But I have not seen the T&Cs you have

    anyway
    Back to the question, how tosecure your wireless
    Heres the V3 user manual
    ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/DG834Gv3_RM_20JAN06.pdf
    Well the manual talks about turning wireless OFF but does not show you how
    - I would do the following
    Loginto the router Page 3-6

    Chapter3 page 3-1
    Turn the SSID broadcast OFF - note the SSID name on the bottom of router
    Set up encryption
    WPA-PSK - enter a password and write it on the bottom of your router (so if you do want to connect wirelessly - its easy just to look at the bottom of router
    BUT maybe when you log into the router- you will see a way to turn off the wireless
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,306
    First Name:
    Terry
    In the wireless section the 'Wireless Mode' should have a choice of 'off' or 'none' or 'disabled.' Use that if you are not going to use the wireless.
     
  8. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    tahnx,

    where is that "wireless mode"?, the only one showing as "wirelessNetwaork Mode" has "a,b,c,d,e,f" choices.

    There is "disable" choise in security options as default.

    Still waiting to get the nanual ...nick
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,676
    First Name:
    Wayne
    [quote[Still waiting to get the nanual ...nick [/quote]
    Just use the link i posted
     
  10. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    etaf,

    No, the package & price I got 3yrs ago was for wired service (wired PC to Router), & router "DG834G v3" supplied by AOL.
    Will download the netgear manual bit, as per your URL, later as now the lines are poor here 500 bytes @sec (2hrs+).

    I got this info though:

    the ones ticked I coloured them Red.

    Which others do you think shall I click to secure from outside connection, but without preventing me have full access.

    Wireless Settings

    Wireless Network
    Name (SSID):
    Region: Europe
    Channel: 01020304050607080910111213
    Mode: g & bg onlyb only

    Wireless Access Point
    Enable Wireless Access Point
    Allow Broadcast of Name (SSID)

    Wireless Isolation

    Wireless Station Access List (setup access list)

    Security Options
    Disable
    WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy)
    WPA-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key)
    WPA-802.1x
     
  11. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    my Asus mobo book says is the P5K premium/Wifi-AP & shows these below, but the Activity LED is not luminated.

    When it says ".....to setup Wireless Network" would it include wireless connection to the web too?

    [​IMG]
    ...........................^
    ...........................^# 10 & 11 the Wfi bits
    ...........................^

    [​IMG]
     
  12. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
    Wireless Settings

    Wireless Network
    Name (SSID):
    Region: Europe
    Channel: 01020304050607080910111213
    Mode: g & bg onlyb only

    Wireless Access Point
    Enable Wireless Access Point Ticked turns on your wireless transmitter/receiver, untick to turn it off. If you are not using wireless, this is the most secure option.Turning the wireless off will not effect ethernet connections.
    Allow Broadcast of Name (SSID) Ticked broadcasts the name of your wireless network.
    Wireless Isolation

    Wireless Station Access List (setup access list)

    Security Options
    Disable WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy) Ticked turns off wireless encryption security.
    WEP (Wired Equivalant Privacy)
    WPA-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key)
    WPA-802.1x


    If you want to leave the wireless on, untick "Disable" under Security Options.
    Select WPA-802.1x encryption.
    Enter a encryption code that you have created when prompted.
    The code can be 8 to 63 characters long and a mix of letters, both upper and lower case, the numbers 0 to 9, and most punctuation marks; without spaces
    It should be something you can remember or you can write it ona piece of tape and stick the tape on your router.
    Anyone trying to use your wireless will need to select the same type of encryprtion and enter the exact code you created.


    Example of possible codes:

    I820HotDogs2Day. (I ate 20 Hot Dogs ToDay)
    !My1969MustangDid120MPH!
    StFU!X!tK5tWh6CS (used a WPA Random Code generator found by WEB search)
     
  13. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    thanx,

    I Unticked disable (default) & chose "WPA-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key)" then I entered a key & clicked Apply, but when I went back today to have a look it reverted back to default "disable".

    Maybe this means that this router can only be wired.

    Where exactly do I go to change the settings & make them stick?
    ....nick
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,676
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what went back to disable - the secruity or access point or both ?

    if you apply the changes, does the wireless light go out ?
     
  15. nichos

    nichos Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    all I changed went back, & the LED never comes on.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/875024

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice