Solved: Can connect through lan cable but not wireless

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

duka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
98
Hello
I have a dimension 6400 running vista home basic that will only connect to the internet via the ethernet cable. The onboard dell stopped working so i purchased a belkin usb adapter, the system sees both adapters in device manager but when looking for wireless networks nothing is seen. I have tried uninstalling both adapters and updating drivers, the belkin adapter green light is flashing but still nothing. I have up to date anti virus, any suggestions much appreciated

Thanks
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
it could be number of things
firewall - close the firewall and see if that helps
Secruity on the Router - take the secruity off and see if it connects
interferance from channels - try changing channels - use 1, 6 or 11
WZC is interfering with the wirelss application you may have installed - close these applications so you are only using one
drivers not loaded correctly - check device manager

post an ipconfig /all here

ipconfig /all

TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

ONE ---------------------------------
start
run
cmd
ipconfig /all

rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

TWO -----------------------------------------------

Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
 

duka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
98
Hello
thanks for the reply, I have tried the list you gave but no good, i have tried my daughters laptop running xp and that can connect via wirelesss through the same router. I have also noticed that there is not even a wireless icon shown on the task bar. Here is the ip config you asked for

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Órlaith>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Órlaith-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controlle
r
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-B9-61-77-7F
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d2a:4c18:ff90:d491%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.47(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 12 October 2008 11:05:17
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 12 October 2008 12:04:54
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184555961
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:d5c7:a2ca:3439:3e9d:3f57:fed0(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3439:3e9d:3f57:fed0%8(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{0BAEC2B3-2E86-4A8C-9654-3DBC077C7
60C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.47%12(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Órlaith>
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
you dont have a wireless adapter listed, looks like you are connected by LAN OK as you mentioned above

So go to device manager and see whats under network connections

start>
control panel>
system>
hardware tab>
device manager button>

network adapters
click on the + sign

post backs whats there

also any ! X or ?


------------
its possible the DELL wireless is switched off - now I think the DELLS use a function and F? ket to switch the wireless on/off - it would be worth checking that
 

duka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
98
Hello again
There is a function key Fn + F2, the wifi light is on, in device manager both adapters are listed and both reportedly working properly. I have looked in the network and sharing, then manage network connections, the wireless connection is disabled, so when i right click to enable it goes through the motions reports that it has been enabled but the icon is still showing disabled.
 

duka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
98
update
have looked in services and the wlan autoconfig is off but when i try to start it comes backwith an error "windows could not start the wlan autoconfig on local computer error 1068" will have a search around to see if there is a solution
 

duka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
98
I think i have found what is causing the problem but unsure of how to fix it. When i tried to start the wlan autoconfig it is saying it cant start because the dependancy group failed to start, i have looked to start all the dependencies but there is a file missing called NDIS usermode I/O protocol. Searching the internet this file seems to have been deleted by a virus. Its been too long for a system restore. If anybody knows how to reinstall this file it would be much appreciated
Thanks
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
do you have a recovery CD or Windows VistaCD ?
 

duka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
98
I have a vista dvd, i tried the start up repair which did not find any problems, unfortunately there doesn't seem to be a repair like there was in xp
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2008
Messages
1,862
Found this post by skoman, 16-Jun-2008, 03:55AM in Operating Systems > NT/2000/XP might help

Titled: Solved Missing NDIS Usermode I/o Protocal Service, WZC

I fixed the problem.I see that Wi-FI has been demaged on everybody that has been infected with win32 bagle worm.So here is my solution to the problem
I found that the service still exist in the registry but its not visible in the service.msc console.
So here is what I did:
Go to Start>run>regedit
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Ndisuio
I changed the start value to 2(automatic).It was 4(disabled)
After reboot my WIFI was working again.

If you dont have this key than your best bet is to search the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE for Ndisuio.If you can not find it than It's bad.Try the search assistant and look for the file Ndisuio.sys.It shoud be in C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers. If not maybe reinstall the Ndisuio.sys driver and service would help but I have not found any information in the internet how to do this.Maybe because Ndisuio.sys is an internal windows file.
Another thing that u might try is to check if all windows files are intact and in place with this command
Start>run>sfc /scannnow
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
dlsayremn, has posted the contents of the LINK I put in post #10 so no need to follow that link

make sure you have a backup of data and create a restore point, just in case editing the registry causing a problem
 

duka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
98
I tried the registry edit and my value was at 3, changed to 2 but did not make any difference. So i took a chance, i cloned my hard drive in case anything went wrong. Loaded a vista dvd and went through as an install but picked the upgrade option, it took a while but it fixed the wireless problem, i had to register vista again and the audio device had to be reinstalled but so far so good. Thanks for all your help.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2008
Messages
1,862
Glad to hear its going again.
Just out of curiosity is the wireless connection the onboard, Belkin USB, or both?
 

duka

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
98
I was trying the belkin usb adapter when the onboard would not work but that would not work either. Since the upgarde option the laptop now sees wireless networks, so i am just using onboard
Thanks again
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top